Worcester Warriors v Bath Rugby Premiership Preview

Worcester Warriors host Bath at Sixways Stadium

Worcester Warriors Director of Rugby Dean Ryan has named a team with five changes for this Saturday’s Aviva Premiership clash with Bath at Sixways.

Carl Kirwan is set for his first Aviva Premiership appearance for the Club in the back row alongside Phil Dowson and skipper GJ van Velze, while Darren Barry comes into the second row to partner Donncha O’Callaghan.

Nick Schonert and Niall Annett are joined by Val Rapava Ruskin in the front row, as the prop is rewarded with a starting berth following his all-action showing off the bench against London Irish.

There are two changes to the backline with Tom Heathcote returning at fly-half and Andy Symons replacing Ryan Mills in the centre.

Meanwhile, this week’s new signing Dewald Potgieter could make his Warriors debut from the replacements bench.

Director of Rugby Dean Ryan said: “Last week was a game we thought we could win and it’s been a harsh review in every area this week.

“A win this weekend is the only answer. It doesn’t matter what we say now. We do the damage on the rugby field and we can only repair it on the rugby field.

“Bath aren’t in good form by their standards but they’re still a class side so we won’t treat them as anything else.

“We’re looking forward to it and seeing a big response from everyone.”

Worcester Warriors have lost their last twelve matches in all tournaments sine beating La Rochelle at Sixways in the European Challenge Cup in November.

The Warriors’ two victories at Sixways in Aviva Premiership Rugby this season were against Northampton in round 1 and Newcastle in round 4.

Bath have lost their last six matches in all tournaments since beating Worcester 21-14 at the Recreation Ground in round 7.

Bath’s only victory on the road in Aviva Premriship Rugby this season came on a trip to London Irish in round 4.

Worcester’s solitary victory over Bath in their last 15 meetings in all competitions was 16-7 in Premiership Rugby at Sixways in November 2011.

Bath’s overall record at the venue is played nine, won six, drawn one, lost two.

Flanker Guy Mercer will make his 100th Club appearance for Bath, with lock Dominic Day poised to do likewise from the bench.

Notably, Academy player Adam Hastings will make his senior debut for Bath – after a commanding performance for Scotland U20 last weekend – as Japan international Amanaki Mafi also makes his first outing in the Blue, Black and White against Worcester Warriors.

Fullback Tom Homer and wings Horacio Agulla and Semesa Rokoduguni are named in the back three. Matt Banahan moves to inside centre, while former England U20 star Max Clark comes in at 13.

Debutant Hastings, who has thrilled in the Aviva A League this season, starts at fly-half, partnered by Fiji international Niko Matawalu at scrum-half.

Nick Auterac, Rob Webber and Henry Thomas comprise the front row, with captain Stuart Hooper joined in the second row by Tom Ellis. Number eight Mafi starts alongside centurion Mercer and blindside Leroy Houston.

Dave Attwood, Dan Bowden, Chris Cook, Kyle Eastmond, Max Lahiff, Francois Louw, Kane Palma-Newport were all not considered for selection due to injury.

Match : Worcester Warriors v Bath Rugby
Date : Saturday 13 February
Venue : Sixways,
Kick Off : 3pm
Live on: N.A
Match Officials
Referee :JP Doyle (105th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Ross Campbell & Andrew Pearce.
TMO: Stuart Terheege.



15 Chris Pennell , 14 Bryce Heem , 13 Wynand Olivier , 12 Andy Symons , 11 Cooper Vuna , 10 Tom Heathcote , 9 Luke Baldwin , 1 Val Rapava Ruskin , 2 Niall Annett , 3 Nick Schonert , 4 Donncha O’Callaghan , 5 Darren Barry , 6 Phil Dowson , 7 Carl Kirwan , 8 GJ van Velze (C)

Replacements ; 16 Jaba Bregvadze , 17 Na’ama Leleimalefaga , 18 James Johnston , 19 Dan Sanderson , 20 Dewald Potgieter , 21 Charlie Mulchrone , 22 Ryan Lamb , 23 Ryan Mills


15 Tom Homer , 14 Semesa Rokoduguni , 13 Max Clark , 12 Matt Banahan , 11 Horacio Agulla , 10 Adam Hastings , 9 Niko Matawalu , 8 Amanaki Mafi, 7 Guy Mercer, 6 Leroy Houston , 5 Tom Ellis , 4 Stuart Hooper (c), 3 Henry Thomas , 2 Rob Webber ,1 Nick Auterac

Replacements: 16 Ross Batty , 17 Beno Obano , 18 David Wilson , 19 Charlie Ewels , 20 Dominic Day , 21 Matt Garvey , 22 Jonathan Evans , 23 Jeff Williams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.