Waratahs beat Reds in Brisbane

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Reds and the Waratahs the New South Wales side have won two and the Reds three.

The Reds have suffered a blow ahead of their match against the Waratahs as lock James Horwill has been ruled out due to injury with a number of other late changes to the team.

Horwill is suffering from back spasms and has been replaced by Marco Kotze. James O’Connor has moved to fullback with Nick Frisby at ten. Lachie Turner has been moved to the wing Chris Feauai-Sautia is at centre. Ben Tapuai drops to the bench. 

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

Bernard Foley kicks off and we are underway. 

1.00: The Waratahs turn the ball over and attack after the start. Some early pressure wins them a penalth. Foley will kick for touch. 

3.00: The Waratahs win the line and try to run at the Reds. They keep the ball alive and a gap opens but Tatafu Polota-Nau drops the ball with the tryline ahead. 

6.00; Both teams defensive systems being tested. The Reds try the high ball and Israel Folau misses it ! H tripped before getting to it and the ball almost hits him on the head. 

11.00: The Reds scrum concedes a penalty for the front row collapsing. The Waratahs will kick for posts. 

12.00: Foley takes the kick and nails it from just inside the half. 

15.00: Penalty to the Waratahs. Foley takes the penalty kick but misses.

18.00: Handling errors – Waratahs 7 Reds 2  

20.00: Kuridrani gets a warning and concedes a penalty for a dangerous tackle on Israel Folau. The Waratahs kick for touch. 

22.00: Penalty after the line out to the Waratahs for hands in the ruck (Adam Thomson). Foley takes the shot for posts and nails it. The Reds have conceded 7 penalties so far. 

24.00: From a ruck the Waratahs run the ball. Matt Carraro races down the wing and slips an inside pass to Bernard Foley who scores. TRY! 

26.00: Foley adds the conversion. 

29.00: Another penalty to the Waratahs from the scrum. Foley puts the ball into touch for the line out. 

32.00: The Reds win a penalty back after Beale played the ball on the ground. James O’Connor lines up the kick for posts. He misses. 

35.00: The Waratahs win a scrum and kick deep. The ball goes to O’Connor but the Reds are called back for a penalty. 

36.00: Will Genia takes the quick tap and drops the ball forward. 

38.00: Penalty to the Reds – coming in from the side. Lachie Turner kicks for the corner and finds touch on the 5m line. 

39.00: The Reds win the line out. They are intially held out and then go wide. They are called back for a penalty. O’Connor will kick for posts. 

40.00; James O’Connor takes the penalty kick and misses. Well off. 

Its half time. 

The half time score was Reds 0 Waratahs 13

The Reds kick off and we are underway with the second half. 

42.00: Wycliff Palu gets some help from the medics for blood. The game resumes. Palu carries on. 

43.00: Nick Frisby tries to clear the ball and it goes straight into Palu’s “gentleman area” and he goes down. James Slipper is also down. The game resumes. 

44.00; The Reds concede a penalty and Foley kicks for touch. 

46.00: The Reds lose the ball in the tackle so the Waratahs have a scrum. 

47.00: The Waratahs win the scrum and go through 9 phases and get to the Reds 5m line. After 11 phases they are brought back for a penalty. 

49.00: Penalty to the Tahs. Foley slots it. 

51.00: The Reds set up and then win a line out in the Waratahs 22. They go though 4 phases but then lose the ball and the Tahs get a toe to it and it goes into touch.  

56.00: Tatafu Polota-Nau is shown a yellow card – “taking out the legs”. The Reds kick for touch with the penalty. They win the line out but pass the ball forward. 

60.00: Scrum penalty to the Waratahs. The Reds kick for touch. 

62.00: The Reds try to attack in the Waratahs 22 but the Waratahs turn the ball and kick upfield. 

63.00: The Waratahs charge down a Reds kick, Horne gets the ball and runs for the line, he passes to Nick Phipps who knocks on – Try gone begging. 

66.00: The Reds go through phases of play before the Tahs turn the ball over and Peter Betham slips through and races for the line leaving the Reds almost standing and scores. TRY! 

69.00: The Waratahs run the ball but Jacques Potgieter knocks on. Reds scrum. 

72.00: Lachie Turner has a run but runs straight into Dave Dennis and goes straight down. The medics come rushing in. Lachie Turner is stretchered off and on comes Campbell Magnay. Turner gives the thumbs up as he is wheeled off. 

75.0: The Reds have leveled up the territory stats but they look dead on their feet after their defensive effort. 

76.00: The Waratahs stretch the Reds by going down the wing. Folau gets the ball and passes to no one in front of the line. 

77.00: The Reds get the ball and attack down the opposite wing but  Curtis Browning is caught by Jacques Potgieter. 

78.00: Penalty to the Reds. They kick for touch and find the 5m line. 

79.00: The Reds win the line out and drive for the line. Schatz comes close but is stopped. Genia recycles and Marco Kotze scores. TRY! 

79.00: James O’Connor misses the conversion as the siren sounds. 

It’s full time. 

The full time score is Reds 5 (0) Waratahs 23 (13)


Tries – M.Kotze
Pen –
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – B.Foley, P.Betham
Pen – B.Foley 3
Con – B.Foley 2
Drop –
Cards -T. Polota-Nau (56th min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 1:Rohan Hoffmann
Assistant Ref 2:James Leckie
TMO : George Ayoub


Queensland Reds

1. James Slipper, 2. Saia Fainga’a, 3. Sam Talakai, 4. Dave McDuling, 5. Marco Kotze, 6. Adam Thomson, 7. Liam Gill, 8. Jake Schatz, 9. Will Genia, 10. Nick Frisby, 11. Lachie Turner, 12. Anthony Fainga’a, 13. Chris Feauai-Sautia, 14. Chris Kuridrani, 15. James O’Connor

Replacements : 16. James Hanson, 17. Ben Daley, 18. Sef Faagase, 19. Murray, 20. Curtis Browning, 21. Scott Gale, 22. Ben Tapuai, 23. Campbell Magnay


1.Benn Robinson, 2.Tatafu Polota-Nau, 3.Sekope Kepu, 4.Will Skelton, 5.David Dennis (C), 6.Jacques Potgieter, 7.Michael Hooper (VC), 8.Wycliff Palu, 9.Nick Phipps, 10.Bernard Foley, 11.Rob Horne, 12.Kurtley Beale, 13.Matt Carraro, 14.Peter Betham, 15.Israel Folau (VC)

Replacements:16.Tolu Latu, 17.Jeremy Tilse, 18.Paddy Ryan ,19.Sam Lousi ,20.Mitchell Chapman ,21.Stephen Hoiles ,22.Brendan McKibbin ,23.Jono Lance ,24.Taqele Naiyaravoro

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.