Two changes for Springboks final Tri Nations clash

Springbok coach Peter de Villiers has selected the same team which was booed off the field last Saturday with the exception of two enforced changes for the Tri-Nations match against Australia at Coca-Cola Park on Saturday.

Odwa Ndungane (pictured)  comes in on the wing for JP Pietersen, who has a grade one hamstring strain.

Bryan Habana is still not fit after his hamstring strain sustained at Newlands against the All Blacks, and was not considered.


In the second change, Bryan Mujati takes over from CJ van der Linde who is suspended.



On the bench, Danie Rossouw comes in for Joe van Niekerk, Jannie du Plessis replaces Mujati and Ruan Pienaar becomes the third back replacement because of the concussion to Frans Steyn.


“We decided to stand together as a group, and we hope and pray the breakthrough is there on Saturday,” said de Villiers.

He admits that he was tempted to make large scale changes in Saturday after the defeat against Australia. “Emotion took over,” he explains it.

However, after a relook at the video he thought that the Boks’ performance was not that bad, De Villiers said.

De Villiers said that the Boks made only a single adjustment to their tried and trusted style that won them the World Cup and which was, he said, based on the Australian structure of some time ago.

“This is where we got stuck,” he said. “We have only added one component (to the old style), namely decision-making,” he said and added that that was very tough.

“Players have to make split-second decisions, and this is where we got stuck. We are probably too used to playing one another,” he explained.

Captain Victor Matfield seemed relaxed at the team announcement – but he reiterated the fact that the Test was of the utmost importance to the Springboks, even though there was no longer any trophy at stake for the Springboks.

“It’s still a huge game, even without any trophies,” he said.

“We want to do this for the coaching staff and the whole squad. I believe we can only go up.”

“We’ve again worked hard on the breakdowns and spent lots of time on decision-making,” he said, adding that the Aussies are always tough and will be again although they haven’t won on the Highveld since 1963.


The Springbok team:

Conrad Jantjes, Odwa Ndungane, Adrian Jacobs, Jean de Villiers, Jongi Nokwe, Butch James, Fourie du Preez, Pierre Spies, Juan Smith, Schalk Burger, Victor Matfield (capt.), Andries Bekker, Bryan Mujati, Bismarck du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira.

Replacements: Adriaan Strauss, Jannie du Plessis, Danie Rossouw, Luke Watson, Enrico Januarie, Ruan Pienaar, Percy Montgomery.

Sapa –

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.