Springboks add Mvovo and Hougaard

Lwazi Mvovo has been added to the Springbok squad

Springbok head coach Allister Coetzee has included Lwazi Mvovo and Francois Hougaard to their squad for the Rugby Championship Tests against Australia and New Zealand

South Africa’s Springboks play Australia’s Wallabies on 10 September in Brisbane and then tackle New Zealand’s All Blacks a week later in Christchurch.

Sharks wing Mvovo, a member of the enlarged Springbok squad named a few weeks ago, comes into the travelling party as replacement for Ruan Combrinck, who sustained a leg fracture over the weekend against Argentina in Salta. The Lions wing has been ruled out of action for up to six weeks.

Hougaard was not considered for the two Pumas Tests because of a knee injury, but the Springbok Sevens Olympian and Worcester Warriors scrumhalf has since recovered and was added to the Springbok squad. The rest of the squad is unchanged from the one that returned from Argentina on Monday.

Flyhalf Elton Jantjies will travel with the South African squad after he left the field early on Saturday with a deep bruise to the thigh. Although cleared to tour, a decision on his availability for the Australian game will only be made next week.

“Losing Ruan is a setback for us, but injuries are part of the game and it’s good for us to be able to call on experienced players such as Lwazi and Francois,” said Springbok coach Allister Coetzee.

“We are not happy with where we find ourselves after the first two matches of the campaign. Australia will pose an even tougher challenge and it is important that we deliver a much-improved performance in Brisbane.”

The Springboks assemble on Thursday morning in Johannesburg and fly out to Australia later that evening.

The Bookmakers have the Springboks at 26.00 to win the Rugby Championship.

The Springbok squad for Brisbane and Christchurch is:

1 Lourens Adriaanse , 2 Damian de Allende, 3 Lood de Jager, 4 Juan de Jongh, 5 Faf de Klerk , 6 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 7 Eben Etzebeth , 8 Johan Goosen, 9 Bryan Habana , 10 Francois Hougaard, 11 Elton Jantjies, 12 Steven Kitshoff, 13 Vincent Koch , 14 Jaco Kriel , 15 Jesse Kriel , 16 Francois Louw , 17 Lionel Mapoe , 18 Malcolm Marx , 19 Bongi Mbonambi , 20 Oupa Mohoje , 21 Franco Mostert , 22 Tendai Mtawarira, 23 Lwazi Mvovo, 24 Trevor Nyakane, 25 Rudy Paige, 26 Morne Steyn , 27 Adriaan Strauss , 28 Warren Whiteley,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.