Jones sets sights on English Six Nations Grand Slam

Enland head coach Eddie Jones

England head coach Eddie Jones has set his sights on winning England’s first Six Nations Grand Slam since 2003 after his team won the Six Nations title with a match to spare.

England are the only unbeaten team in the Six Nations and after Scotland beat France 29-18 in Edinburgh no other team can catch England.

England last won the Six Nations in 2011 but fell at the final hurdle in Ireland and missed out on the Grand Slam.

England began their campaign with a 15-9 win over Scotland before thrashing Italy 40-9, seeing off Ireland 21-10 and edging Wales 25-21 on Saturday and now only a struggling French side stand in their way of a Grand Slam.

“It’s obviously nice to win the championship, but I think as a team we haven’t achieved what we want to achieve and that’s the Grand Slam,” Jones told the BBC.

“It’s a fantastic achievement by the team. You look at the squad, it’s still very much the same squad as the World Cup, so that squad’s changed itself and the real credit goes to the players.

“If we prepare well, we’ll do the business (in France). We’ll go to Paris confident. France are always going to be a difficult side and they showed that at times today, they can play absolutely sublime rugby. At other times it’s not so sublime so we have to make sure they don’t have too many sublime moments.”

Meanwhile Jones has assembled 32 players at Pennyhill Park to prepare for France at Stade de France.

Sale Sharks hooker Tommy Taylor replaces Jamie George (Saracens) who is injured.

England squad

Forwards (19)

Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints)
Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)
Jack Clifford (Harlequins)
Dave Ewers (Exeter Chiefs)
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
James Haskell (Wasps)
Paul Hill (Northampton Saints)
Maro Itoje (Saracens)
George Kruis (Saracens)
Matt Kvesic (Gloucester Rugby)
Joe Launchbury (Wasps)
Joe Marler (Harlequins)
Matt Mullan (Wasps)
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
Ed Slater (Leicester Tigers)
Tommy Taylor (Sale Sharks)
Billy Vunipola (Saracens)
Mako Vunipola (Saracens)

Backs (13)
Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Danny Care (Harlequins)
Elliot Daly (Wasps)
Ollie Devoto (Bath Rugby)
Owen Farrell (Saracens)
George Ford (Bath Rugby)
Alex Goode (Saracens)
Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)
Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby)
Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.