Jones names England Elite Player Squad for Autumn series

England head coach Eddie Jones has named his 45 man squad for the upcoming Autumn Internationals which start against South Africa.

Jones has named a squad of 45 players (EPS) and a squad of 37 players who will attend a three-day training camp in Brighton as England begin their preparation for the Series against South Africa, Fiji, Argentina and Australia later in the year.

The 37 players will train at Brighton College from 2-4 October ahead of the opening game in the series against South Africa at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday 12 November (2.30pm).

Seven uncapped players are included in the training squad.

Second-row Josh Beaumont (Sale Sharks) is named with back-row forwards Sam Jones (Wasps), Mike Williams (Leicester Tigers) and Nathan Hughes (Wasps). Scrum-half Dan Robson (Wasps) joins centres Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors) and Joe Marchant (Harlequins). Forward Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby) is also selected for the first time in an England training camp under Jones.

The final squad for the Series will be announced on 26 October.

“The Series will be a big challenge and the players will need to step up to the mark,” said England head coach Jones.

“With a number of players missing through injury it’s a good opportunity for others to put their hands up and show us what they’re made of.

“I think it’s a good situation to be in. Injuries allow us to strengthen the depth of our squad and develop robustness. Ideally, by the Rugby World Cup in 2019, we’re looking to have three players in every position who are interchangeable.

“At the moment we have seven of our most influential players not playing regularly for their clubs, but that should be no excuse. England have not beaten South Africa since 2006 and this needs to change.”

Meanwhile, Under 20 backs and attack coach Rory Teague, who was part of the management team that helped guide England to glory at the World Rugby Championships in June, will join the set-up as a part-time skills coach.

“In addition to Richard Hill’s appointment as Team Manager I am pleased to also announce that Rory Teague will join us in November,” added Jones.

“He will primarily be working with the players on their individual skills. This is a temporary appointment and another good opportunity for an English coach to gain experience and develop their coaching at the highest level.”

England 45-man elite player squad:


Josh Beaumont (Sale Sharks), Jack Clifford (Harlequins),Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers),Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs),Will Evans (Leicester Tigers),Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby),Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers),Jamie George (Saracens),Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints) ,James Haskell (Wasps),Paul Hill (Northampton Saints) ,Nathan Hughes (Wasps),Maro Itoje (Saracens),Sam Jones (Wasps),George Kruis (Saracens),Joe Launchbury (Wasps),Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints),Joe Marler (Harlequins) ,Matt Mullan (Wasps),Chris Robshaw (Harlequins),Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins),Tommy Taylor (Wasps),Billy Vunipola (Saracens) ,Mako Vunipola (Saracens) ,Mike Williams (Leicester Tigers)


Mike Brown (Harlequins) ,Danny Care (Harlequins) ,Elliot Daly (Wasps),Owen Farrell (Saracens) ,George Ford (Bath Rugby) ,Alex Goode (Saracens) ,Mike Haley (Sale Sharks),Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby),Alex Lozowski (Saracens),Joe Marchant (Harlequins),Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby),Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs) ,Dan Robson (Wasps),Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby),Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs),Ben Spencer (Saracens),Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors),Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers),Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby),Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

37 players attending Brighton training camp from 2-4 October


Josh Beaumont (Sale Sharks),Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers),Jamie George (Saracens),Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints) *injury replacement for James Haskell (Wasps),Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints) ,James Haskell (Wasps),Paul Hill (Northampton Saints) ,Nathan Hughes (Wasps),Maro Itoje (Saracens),Sam Jones (Wasps),George Kruis (Saracens),Joe Launchbury (Wasps),Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints),Joe Marler (Harlequins) ,Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby) *injury replacement for Jack Clifford (Harlequins),Chris Robshaw (Harlequins),Tommy Taylor (Wasps),Billy Vunipola (Saracens) ,Mako Vunipola (Saracens) ,Mike Williams (Leicester Tigers)


Mike Brown (Harlequins) ,Danny Care (Harlequins),Elliot Daly (Wasps),Ollie Devoto (Exeter Rugby) *injury replacement for Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers),Owen Farrell (Saracens),George Ford (Bath Rugby) ,Alex Goode (Saracens) ,Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby),Joe Marchant (Harlequins),Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs) ,Dan Robson (Wasps),Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby),Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs),Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors),Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby),Marland Yarde (Harlequins) *injury replacement for Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby),Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.