Highlanders shuffle their pack for Waratahs

Shane Christie will co-captain the Highlanders

Highlanders coach Jamie Joseph has made a number of changes to his forward pack for this week’s Super Rugby match against the Waratahs.

Joseph has kept his backline is unchanged in both the starting line-up and the replacements but the forward pack has had changes after last week’s victory over the Chiefs. .

Elliot Dixon moves to six, after a strong game last week, to make way for Shane Christie who will be making his 2015 Super Rugby debut after receiving a knee injury in the final of the ITM Cup last year.

Tom Franklin comes back into the starting lineup after impressing off the bench and a reshuffle in the front row sees Ross Geldenhuys start while Pingi Tala’apitaga moves on to the bench to cover for Ma’afu Fia who received a knee injury during last week’s game.

Richard Buckman (knee), Ma’afu Fia (knee), Dan Pryor (concussion), Kane Hames (suspended) were not considered for selection this week.


1. Josh Hohneck , 2. Liam Coltman , 3. Ross Geldenhuys , 4. Tom Franklin , 5. Joe Wheeler , 6. Elliot Dixon , 7. Shane Christie , 8. Nasi Manu (c) , 9. Aaron Smith , 10. Lima Sopoaga , 11. Patrick Osborne , 12. Shaun Treeby , 13. Malakai Fekitoa , 14. Waisake Naholo , 15. Ben Smith (c)

Replacements : 16. Ash Dixon , 17. Brendon Edmonds , 18. Pingi Tala’apitaga , 19. Mark Reddish , 20. John Hardie , 21. Fumiaki Tanaka , 22. Marty Banks , 23. Jason Emery

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.