Harlequins start season with Wasps victory

Karl Dickson on the charge for Harlequins

Harlequins kicked off their Aviva Premiership Rugby campaign with a 26-21 victory over Wasps at the Twickenham Stoop on Friday.

Quins were made to work for the victory with Nick Evans showing his importance to the team by scoring 21 points for the home side.

It was a fast-paced start at the Stoop in a game that witnessed the first try of the Premiership season.

Jimmy Gopperth opened the scoring early on with a penalty for Wasps but it took just two minutes for Quins to reply through their fly-half Evans who added a second three-pointer shortly after.

Then came the first try of the campaign when Jake Cooper-Woolley powered through two tackles before diving over the line after some great build up play from Brendan Macken, Nathan Hughes and James Cannon.

Despite some resolute defence from Wasps, Quins managed to grab their first try. Karl Dickson chipped over and Evans gathered the ball to go over in the corner before adding the extra two points to put the home side ahead.

Gopperth continued his good start and added three points five minutes later as Quins went into half-time two points ahead, 13-11.

After the break Quins came out with their tails up, scoring an early try through George Lowe who managed to burst through the Wasps line.

Gopperth moved Wasps to within a losing bonus-point after kicking his third penalty of the match, before Evans added two more three-pointers for Quins to move them 12 clear.

With five minutes left Wasps set up a nervy finish as Elliot Daly scored his side’s second touchdown. However, despite some late pressure from Wasps, they had to settle for just a point as the Coventry-based outfit fell victim to some superb kicking from Evans.

Final Score Harlequins 26 (13) Wasps 21 (11)


Tries – Evans, Lowe
Pen – Evans (4)
Con – Evans (2)
Drop –

Tries – Cooper-Woolley, Daly
Pen – Gopperth (3)
Con – Jackson
Drop –

Match Officials
Referee :Luke Pearce (40th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Paul Burton & Simon McConnell.
TMO: Sean Davey.



15. Ollie Lindsay-Hague , 14. Marland Yarde , 13. George Lowe , 12. Harry Sloan , 11. Charlie Walker , 10. Nick Evans (C) , 9. Karl Dickson, 8. Mat Luamanu, 7. Luke Wallace , 6. Jack Clifford , 5. Sam Twomey , 4. James Horwill , 3. Adam Jones, 2. Dave Ward ,1. Mark Lambert

Replacements : 16. Joe Gray , 17. Joe Marler , 18. Kyle Sinckler , 19. Charlie Matthews , 20. Nick Easter , 21. Tito Tebaldi , 22. Ben Botica , 23. Mike Brown


15. Rob Miller , 14. Christian Wade , 13. Elliot Daly , 12. Brendan Macken , 11. Josh Bassett , 10. Jimmy Gopperth , 9. Joe Simpson, 8. Nathan Hughes, 7. George Smith , 6. Sam Jones , 5. James Gaskell , 4. James Cannon , 3. Jake Cooper-Woolley , 2. Ashley Johnson, 1. Matt Mullan (c)

Replacments :16. Carlo Festuccia , 17. Simon McIntyre , 18. Phil Swainston , 19. Kearnan Myall , 20. Thomas Young , 21. Dan Robson , 22. Ruaridh Jackson , 23. Sailosi Tagicakibau

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.