Gloucester edge out Exeter Chiefs

Ben Morgan attacks for Gloucester

Gloucester edged out Exeter Chiefs 16-9 at Kingsholm to keep their top six hopes alive while also stopping Exeter from sealing a place in the play offs for the first time.

Gloucester scored the only try of the match and the result keeps them in contention for a top six place which would earn them qualification for the European rugby champions cup.

Exeter are second in the Premiership standings and having been promoted into the Premiership in 2010 they have never reached the play offs before.

Neither team could score a point in the first half which makes the match the first Premiership match in seven years to be scoreless at half time.

In the second half Ollie Thorley scored the only try of the match and Gloucester also scored three penalties from Greg Laidlaw’s boot.

Exeter’s Gareth Steenson kicked three penalties which were the only scores the Chiefs could put on the scoreboard.

More to follow.

Final Score Gloucester 16 (0) Exeter Chiefs 9 (0)


Tries – Thorley
Pen – Laidlaw 3
Con – Laidlaw
Drop –

Exeter Chiefs
Tries –
Pen – Steenson 3
Con –
Drop –

Match Officials
Referee :Craig Maxwell-Keys (17th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Robin Goodliffe and Roger Baileff.
TMO: Trevor Fisher.



15. Tom Marshall; 14. Rob Cook, 13. Billy Twelvetrees, 12. Mark Atkinson, 11. Henry Trinder; 10. James Hook, 9. Greig Laidlaw (capt); 1. Yann Thomas, 2. Richard Hibbard, 3. John Afoa; 4. Tom Savage, 5. Jeremy Thrush; 6. Ross Moriarty, 7. Matt Kvesic, 8. Ben Morgan

Replacements: 16. Darren Dawidiuk, 17. Nick Wood, 18. Paul Doran-Jones, 19. Elliott Stooke, 20. Gareth Evans, 21. Willi Heinz, 22. Ollie Thorley, 23. Jacob Rowan

Exeter Chiefs

15 Lachlan Turner , 14 Jack Nowell , 13 Henry Slade , 12 Ian Whitten , 11 Olly Woodburn , 10 Gareth Steenson (capt) , 9 Will Chudley, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Julian Salvi , 6 Don Armand , 5 Geoff Parling , 4 Mitch Lees, 3 Harry Williams , 2 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 1 Ben Moon

Replacements : 16 Jack Yeandle , 17 Alec Hepburn , 18 Carl Rimmer , 19 Damian Welch , 20 Dave Ewers , 21 Dave Lewis , 22 Michele Campagnaro , 23 James Short

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.