Giteau in Wallabies Rugby Championship training squad

Matt Giteau has been included in the Wallabies Rugby Championship squad

Wallabies head coach Michael Cheika has included Matt Giteau in a 36 man training squad for the Rugby Championship.

Cheika has also included four uncapped players in the squad that will assemble in Sydney on Monday (August 1) ahead of the Wallabies camp on the Central Coast.

The four uncapped players include Waratahs prop Tom Robertson and Rebels forward Lopeti Timani who are in the train-on squad for the first time.

“We have had a great week with the players in our initial training squad and they’ve enjoyed working hard together,” Wallabies Head Coach Michael Cheika said.

“Next week’s training squad will include selected players from Canberra and we will start to look closely at the final 33 in preparation for the Central Coast camp.”

The squad also includes four overseas-based players, with Adam Ashley-Cooper, Will Genia, Matt Giteau and Drew Mitchell all selected ahead of the opening Bledisloe Cup Test in Sydney.

“All of our eligible European-based players expressed a desire to play for the Wallabies during The Rugby Championship and that experience is invaluable,” Cheika said.

“We have a very clear purpose in this team and we are prepared to work very hard to respect that purpose.”.

Wallabies Rugby Championship training squad

Allan Alaalatoa* (0 Tests)
Adam Ashley-Cooper (114 Tests)
Adam Coleman (1 Test)
Quade Cooper (58 Tests)
Kane Douglas (23 Tests)
Scott Fardy (33 Tests)
Israel Folau (41 Tests)
Bernard Foley (30 Tests)
Nick Frisby (2 Tests)
Will Genia (66 Tests)
Matt Giteau (102 Tests)
James Hanson (10 Tests)
Dane Haylett-Petty (3 Tests)
Reece Hodge* (0 Tests)
Michael Hooper (54 Tests)
Rob Horne (32 Tests)
Sekope Kepu (66 Tests)
Samu Kerevi (2 Tests)
Tevita Kuridrani (34 Tests)
Ben McCalman (48 Tests)
Sean McMahon (9 Tests)
Drew Mitchell (70 Tests)
Luke Morahan (2 Tests)
Stephen Moore (c) (105 Tests)
Dean Mumm (46 Tests)
Nick Phipps (42 Tests)
David Pocock (56 Tests)
Tatafu Polota-Nau (64 Tests)
Tom Robertson* (0 Tests)
Rob Simmons (62 Tests)
Scott Sio (18 Tests)
Will Skelton (15 Tests)
James Slipper (77 Tests)
Toby Smith (4 Tests)
Lopeti Timani* (0 Tests)
Matt Toomua (32 Tests)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.