Giteau ruled out of Rugby Championship

Matt Giteau has likely played his last Test

Matt Giteau’s playing future is in doubt after the Wallabies star broke his ankle in Australia’s 8-42 Rugby Championship / Bledisloe Cup loss to New Zealand.

Giteau lasted just 10 minutes of the Rugby Championship match before a broken ankle ended his match and quite possibly his International playing career.

The Wallabies back turns 34 next month which means that the midfield playmaker will be almost 35 when he will be available for Wallabies selection again.

Giteau is one of the highest paid players in world rugby but wanted “one last crack” at the Bledisloe Cup so returned home to play for Australia from Toulon as the French Top 14 season began.

“Matt’s got a bit of a break in his leg at the top of his leg and a bit of a fracture in his ankle. Good job on his leg,” Cheika told AOL.

“He’s disappointed but he’s also very realistic. He’s a pro. He knows that he’s still got to get himself right and get back to his club commitments for later in the season so that’s what he’ll be doing.”

While Giteau is considered to be one of the world’s best players he lost two Rugby World Cup finals – against England in 2003 and New Zealand in 2015 – and only won one Rugby Championship title last year.

Giteau won a Super Rugby title with the Brumbies in 2004 and was part of the Toulon side that won Top14 and European Cup titles.

Meanwhile Wallabies coach Micheal Cheika will also have to do without Rob Horne for the rest of the Rugby Championship as it’s likely that he will require a shoulder reconstruction.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.