England unchanged, Tuilagi benched for Wales

Manu Tuilagi has withdrawn from the England squad

England head coach Eddie Jones has retained the starting team that beat Ireland for this weekend’s clash at Twickenham against Wales with Manu Tuilagi on the bench.

While Jones has retained the starting line up he has made four changes to the replacements and notably Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers) replaces Alex Goode (Saracens).

Jones has retained 10 of the 23 players from the team that lost to Wales in the Rugby World Cup including Owen Farrell and Chris Robshaw who have changed positions in the starting line up.

Tight-head prop Kieran Brookes is selected ahead of Northampton Saints club-mate Paul Hill. Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs) comes in for Jamie George (Saracens) who ruptured a tendon in his left biceps while training on Tuesday.

“We’ve picked our best 23 to get the job done on Saturday,” said England head coach Eddie Jones.

“The squad have prepared well this week and I’m happy with how things have progressed.”

“Manu Tuilagi’s selection to the match day squad is based more on potential than his recent performances in the Premiership. He has trained well this week and I am pleased with what I’ve seen.

“It was a tight call between Kieran Brookes and Paul Hill, who have pushed each other hard, but Kieran gets the nod for Saturday.

“It is a shame that Jamie George misses out through injury and we wish him well in his recovery, but it provides a great opportunity for Luke Cowan-Dickie to show what he’s about.

“There is a huge amount to play for on Saturday and we are looking forward to being back at home in front of a vocal Twickenham crowd.”


15. Mike Brown (vc) , 14. Anthony Watson , 13. Jonathan Joseph , 12. Owen Farrell (vc) , 11. Jack Nowell , 10. George Ford , 9. Ben Youngs, 8. Billy Vunipola (vc) , 7. James Haskell , 6. Chris Robshaw , 5. George Kruis , 4. Maro Itoje , 3. Dan Cole , 2. Dylan Hartley (c),1. Joe Marler

Replacements : 16. Luke Cowan-Dickie , 17. Mako Vunipola , 18. Kieran Brookes , 19. Joe Launchbury , 20. Jack Clifford , 21. Danny Care , 22. Manu Tuilagi , 23. Elliot Daly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.