England make two changes for Ireland in 6 Nations

England head coach Stuart Lancaster has named a team to play Ireland in the Six Nations in Dublin with two changes to the side that beat Italy two weeks ago.

Saracens fullback Andy Goode comes in to the starting line up replacing Mike Brown who has failed to recover fully from concussion.

The other change to the starting line up is Exeter winger Jack Nowell return to the starting line up replacing Jonny May.

Goode starred in the 12-6 triumph last time England were in Dublin, starts his first Test for two years.

Meanwhile, Nowell – in scintillating domestic form with Exeter Chiefs – is preferred to Gloucester Rugby’s Jonny May as the only two unbeaten teams in the Six Nations go head-to-head.

In the only other change to the England match-day 23 that defeated Italy 47-17, Henry Thomas (Bath Rugby) replaces Kieran Brookes on the bench.

The Newcastle Falcons tighthead prop is continuing to recover from a hip flexor strain he picked up earlier this week.

Explaining the selection, Head Coach Lancaster said the two new names in his 15 had been pressing for inclusion for some time.

Though Ireland are on a run of nine consecutive victories, he was wholly confident in the squad that cross the Irish Sea.

“We’ve made minimal changes as we felt the squad have performed well in the first two games,” Lancaster said.

“Alex is in good form for Saracens and has been training well over the last few weeks, as has Jack, who is also playing well for Exeter.

“Both have been pushing hard for selection and I am sure will seize their chance against a high quality Ireland side.

“Chris Pennell and Manu Tuilagi will also travel. Manu has been recovering with us and so it’s good to continue keeping him connected.

“There are no Greene King IPA Championship matches this weekend so Chris can also spend more time with the squad.”


15. Alex Goode , 14. Anthony Watson , 13. Jonathan Joseph , 12. Luther Burrell , 11. Jack Nowell , 10. George Ford , 9. Ben Youngs , 8. Billy Vunipola , 7. Chris Robshaw, 6. James Haskell , 5. George Kruis , 4. David Attwood , 3. Dan Cole , 2. Dylan Hartley ,1. Joe Marler

Replacements:16. Tom Youngs , 17. Mako Vunipola , 18. Henry Thomas , 19. Nick Easter , 20. Tom Croft , 21. Richard Wigglesworth , 22. Danny Cipriani , 23. Billy Twelvetrees

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.