Chiefs beat Stormers in Cape Town

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Stormers and the Chiefs the Stormers have won three and the Chiefs two.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Chiefs kick off and we are underway. 

Manuel Carizza knocks on after the start so we have a scrum. 

2.00: The Chiefs win the first scrum and attack. First they run and then kick. The Stormers take the mark. They restart and after a short spell of a attack they kick the ball away and the Chiefs attack. 

3.00: Penalty for not rolling away to the Chiefs. Cruden will kick for posts. 

4.00: Cruden bangs over the penalty and the Chiefs lead.

9.00: The Stormers scrum dominates the Chiefs scrum and it wins them a penalty. Kurt Coleman will kick for posts. He misses. 

11.00: The Stormers break out and Kobus van Wyk races for the croner but just gets caught and pushed into touch by Bryce Heem. 

12.00: The Stormers win the line out and then lose the ball. Its scrappy and there is a chase for a loose ball – Messam gets to it but knocks it on. 

13.00: The Stormers scrum powers through the Chiefs scrum and it wins them a penalty. Coleman gets another chance to kick for posts. 

14.00: Coleman takes the kick and nails it to level the scores. 

15.00: The Stormers win a penalty as the Chiefs don’t commit to a tackle and therefore don’t create an offside line at the ruck. Odd. 

16.00: The Stormers kick for touch. 

17.00: Sonny Bill Williams collides with Vincent Koch and there is a clash of heads and Williams goes down. He has to come off for a concussion test as it looked like he was knocked out. 

18.00; The Stormers run the ball and De Allende passes out to Kobus van Wyk who races for the line and scores. TRY! 

19.00: Coleman takes the conversion kick and nails it. 

22.00: The Stormers are finding holes in the Chiefs defence. The Chiefs concede a penalty so Coleman has another shot at the posts. 

23.00: Coleman slots the penalty extending the lead. 

24.00: The Chiefs turn the ball over after a spell of Stormers attack but they  kick it out on the full. Sonny Bill Williams comes back on. 

26.00: Penalty to the Chiefs for not releasing. They kick for touch. 

27.00: The Chiefs win the line out and move the ball to the opposite side of the field and Heem beats two and passes to Cruden who scores. TRY! 

28.00: Cruden adds the conversion. The Chiefs are back in this. 

30.00: The Chiefs are starting to open up. They press the Stormers back into their 22 but the Stormers knock on. 

31.00: The Stormers win a penalty for hands in the ruck. Coleman clears. 

33.00: The Stormers scrum wins them another penalty. Coleman will kick for posts. 

34.00: Coleman slots the penalty. 

36.00: There is a break in play as Louis Schreuder has taken a knock and the medical buggy has come on. Nic Goom comes on. 

38.00: The Chiefs go on the attack in the Stormers 22. The Stormers turn the ball over but then the Chiefs turn it over and the Chiefs resume the attack until they are pushed into touch. 

40.00: The siren sounds as the Chiefs continue their attack. They get to 5m out and the attack slows. The Chiefs have an advantage but they carry on. We go back for a penalty. 

42.00: Cruden will kick for posts. He nails the kick and its half time. 

The half time score was Stormers 16 Chiefs 13 

The Stormers kick off and we are underway with the second half. 

42.00: The Chiefs are putting the Stormers under some pressure in their half. 

44.00: The Chieds push the Stormers into their 22. The Stormers turn the ball over and Groom kicks the ball straight into touch. 

46.00: The second half has taken a different mood to the game. The Chiefs scrum has arrived as well. The Chiefs win a scrum and pass the  ball down the line and Cruden sucks in the last defender and passes to James Lowe who scores. TRY !

48.00: Cruden adds the conversion from the touchline. The Chiefs lead. 

50.00: The Chiefs are back on the attack. Cruden kicks for the corner and Messam is there but so is a Stormers defender and he pushes Messam into touch. The Chiefs had a penalty advantage so now they have a penalty. They will kick for the corner. 

53.00: The Chiefs have the Stormers under the pump at the moment. Things are falling apart for the Cape side. The Stormers knock on a Chiefs line out giving the Chiefs a 5m scrum. 

54.00: The ball comes out but gets knocked on by the Chiefs so the Stormers have a scrum. 

57.00: Sonny Bill gets some help from the medic for a cut eye. The rest of the players get some water in. 

59.00: The Chiefs win a penalty from the scrum. Aaron Cruden will kick for posts. 

60.00: Cruden bangs over the penalty extending the lead. The Stormers change their front row.

61.00: Penalty to the Stormers. Catrakilis (who has just come on) takes the kick and nails it. 

64.00: Penalty to the Chiefs. They take the quick tap but there is an accidental obstruction. Scrum to the Stormers. 

67.00: The Chiefs win a penalty from the scrum. They will kick for posts. 

68.00: Cruden takes the kick but misses. 

70.00: The Chiefs send wave after wave of attack at the Stormers and Sam Cane scores in the corner. TRY! 

72.00: Cruden’s kick is wide. The Stormers will have to score twice. If the Chiefs score again they will get the bonus point. 

74.00: Sonny Bill Williams comes off for the Chiefs. 

77.00: The Stormers work the ball down field but the Chiefs turn it over and kick it well upfield. 

78.00: The Chiefs are keeping the Stormers pinned back in their half. 

79.00: The Stormers win a line out and Catrakilis kicks for touch to set up the line out. 

79.00: The Stormers have the ball on attack as the siren sounds. They get pushed into touch and that is it. 

The Chiefs have won. 

The full time score is Stormers 19 (16) Chiefs 28 (13)


Tries – K.Van Wyk
Pen – K.Coleman 3, Catrakilis
Con – K.Coleman
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – A.Cruden, J.Lowe, S.Cane 
Pen – A.Cruden 3
Con – A.Cruden 2
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1:Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Ref 2:Quinton Immelman
TMO :Shaun Veldsman



15. Cheslin Kolbe , 14. Kobus van Wyk , 13. Juan de Jongh (vice-captain) , 12. Damian de Allende , 11. Dillyn Leyds , 10. Kurt Coleman , 9. Louis Schreuder , 8. Duane Vermeulen (captain) , 7. Siya Kolisi , 6. Nizaam Carr , 5. Manuel Carizza , 4. Jean Kleyn , 3. Vincent Koch , 2. Scarra Ntubeni , 1. Steven Kitshoff (50th cap for Stormers)

Replacements: 16. Neil Rautenbach , 17. Alistair Vermaak , 18. Frans Malherbe , 19. Ruan Botha , 20. Schalk Burger , 21. Nic Groom , 22. Demetri Catrakilis , 23. Huw Jones


1. Pauliasi Manu , 2. Hika Elliot , 3. Ben Tameifuna , 4. Matt Symons , 5. Michael Fitzgerald , 6. Liam Messam , 7. Sam Cane , 8. Michael Leitch ** , 9. Brad Weber , 10. Aaron Cruden , 11. James Lowe , 12. Sonny Bill Williams , 13. Tim Nanai-Williams , 14. Bryce Heem , 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacements: 16. Quentin MacDonald , 17. Siate Tokolahi , 18. Jamie Mackintosh , 19. Michael Allardice , 20. Maama Vaipulu , 21. Augustine Pulu , 22. Andrew Horrell , 23. Tom Marshall

** Super Rugby Debut

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.