Cheetahs v Sharks Super Rugby Preview

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Bloemfontein based Cheetahs and the Durban based Sharks the Cheetahs have won three and the Sharks two.

Overall the Cheetahs have played the Sharks 14 times since they joined Super Rugby in 2006 and the Cheetahs have won six matches and the Sharks eight.

That gives the Cheetahs a record of winning 43% of their matches against the Sharks regardless of venue. The average score when these teams play is : Cheetahs 20 Sharks 24.

This weekend the match will be played in Bloemfontein which is home for the Cheetahs and where the teams have met 6 times. In those six matches the Cheetahs have won two and lost four matches.

That gives the Cheetahs a record of winning 33 % of their matches against the Sharks at home. The average score when the Cheetahs play the Sharks in Bloemfontein is Cheetahs 22 Sharks 24.

The Cheetahs and the Sharks have already played each other once this year and that match was won 29-35 by the Cheetahs in Durban and this week is the return match.

The Cheetahs have only played three matches so far this season and they have won two and lost one. Two of their matches have been in Bloemfontein and they have won one and lost one.

The Sharks on the other hand have played four matches but they have only won one match. That sole victory was at home in Durban against the Lions.

The Sharks have played two matches at home and two matches away from home and they have yet to win away from home this year.

The last two matches between the teams have both been won by the Cheetahs.

After last week’s loss to the Bulls, Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske has made several changes to his team. Oupa Mohoje was originally going to be rested but he was later included in the team.

In other changes to starting back line Francois Venter moves from outside to inside centre with Michael van der Spuy dropping out of the team and Johann Sadie starting at 13.

The Sharks have made four changes to their side and all are in the forwards. Springbok Jannie du Plessis returns to the starting line up to partner his brother Bismarck after having last week off for the birth of his child.

Former England international Mouritz Botha also returns from an eye socket injury in the opening round and he will pack down alongside Springbok Pieter-Steph du Toit in the second row.

The final change comes in at loose-forward where Renaldo Bothma comes in for Willem Alberts.

The Bookies have given the Cheetahs a 2 point start for this Match – with an offer of a FREE $150 BET. The Sharks have been struggling this year but one gets the feeling that they will hit form sooner rather than later and they will be a desperate and hungry side this week. The Sharks should win this by four.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 3/HD.

Average score: Cheetahs 20 Sharks 24

Last five results
14 Feb 2015 Cheetahs v Sharks 35-29 Durban
05 Jul 2014 Cheetahs v Sharks 27-20 Bloemfontein
19 Apr 2014 Cheetahs v Sharks 8-19 Durban
20 Apr 2013 Cheetahs v Sharks 12-6 Durban
23 Feb 2013 Cheetahs v Sharks 22-29 Bloemfontein

Cheetahs overall record against the Sharks
Played 14 , Wins 6 , Losses 8, Draws 0

Match No.34:Cheetahs v Sharks
Date : Saturday 14 March 2015
Venue : Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein
Kick Off local: 17:05 local, 02:05* AEDT, 04:05* NZDT
Referee: Chris Pollock
Assistant Ref 1:Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Ref 2:Lourens van der Merwe
TMO :Johan Greeff


Cheetahs (revised)

1. Danie Mienie,2. Torsten van Jaarsveld,3 . Coenie Oosthuizen,4. Carl Wegner,5. Francois Uys (C ),6. Oupa Mohoje,7. Jean Cook,8. Boom Prinsloo,9. Sarel Pretorius (VC),10. Joe Pietersen,11. Raymond Rhule,12 .Francois Venter,13. Johann Sadie,14 Cornal Hendricks,15 Willie le Roux,

Replacements :16. BG Uys,17. Stephan Coetzee,18. Maks van Dyk,19. Heinrich Brussow,20. Steven Sykes,21. ,Tian Meyer,22. ,Willie du Plessis,23. Clayton Blommetjies


15. SP Marais , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. JP Pietersen , 12. Francois Steyn , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Patrick Lambie , 9. Cobus Reinach , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 7. Renaldo Bothma , 6. Marcell Coetzee , 5. Pieter-Steph du Toit , 4. Mouritz Botha , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Bismarck du Plessis (C) , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements , 16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Dale Chadwick / Thomas du Toit , 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. Marco Wentzel / Lubabalo Mtyanda , 20. Tera Mtembu , 21. Conrad Hoffmann , 22. Andre Esterhuizen , 23. Jack Wilson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.