Brussow returns for Cheetahs against Sharks

The Cheetahs have named their Super Rugby team to play the Sharks on Saturday at the Free State Stadium in Bloemfontein with Heinrich Brussow returning to the match day squad.

Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske has made several changes to the starting team but the most notable change is on the replacements bench where Heinrich Brussow returns to face the Sharks.

Sarel Pretorius was a late withdrawal last week and was replaced by Tian Meyer but Pretorius is back in the starting team this week.

In other changes to starting back line Francois Venter moves from outside to inside centre with Michael van der Spuy dropping out of the team and Johann Sadie starting at 13.

“Johann Sadie has proved himself as a replacement,” said coach Drotske.

He did not get much game time since his return from Japan, but he is ready and comes in at outside centre. We moved Francois back inside because I believe he is more calm there, and of greater value. ”

In the forwards Tienie Burger starts at 6 which allows Boom Prinsloo to start at No.8 and Jean Cook replaces Oupa Mohoje starting at 7.

Saru regulations stipulate that no Springbok may play more than five consecutive weeks, which is why lock Oupa Mohoje sits out the Sharks clash.

“We always knew that the Saru regulations with regards to the World Cup later this year would come into play, ” said Drotske.

“That is why Oupa Mohoje is sitting this one out. In his place comes Tienie Burger, who has proven himself coming off the bench and in last year’s Currie Cup. Later we will start the same process with Springboks like Coenie Oosthuizen and Willie le Roux. “

Brussow is the new name on the bench and there is also a place for Clayton Blommetjies.


1. Danie Mienie,2. Torsten van Jaarsveld,3 . Coenie Oosthuizen,4. Carl Wegner,5. Francois Uys (C ),6. Tienie Burger,7. Jean Cook,8. Boom Prinsloo,9. Sarel Pretorius (VC),10. Joe Pietersen,11. Raymond Rhule,12 .Francois Venter,13. Johann Sadie,14 Cornal Hendricks,15 Willie le Roux,

Replacements :16. BG Uys,17. Stephan Coetzee,18. Maks van Dyk,19. Heinrich Brussow,20. Steven Sykes,21. ,Tian Meyer,22. ,Willie du Plessis,23. Clayton Blommetjies

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.