Brumbies upset Waratahs in rare Sydney victory

Joe Tomane scored three tries for the Brumbies

A hat-trick of tries from winger Joe Tomane helped the Brumbies to a 20-26 Super Rugby victory over the Waratahs in Sydney at Allianz Stadium.

The result keeps the Brumbies on top of the Australian Conference and gives them a 9 point lead over the Sydney side who have a match in hand over the Brumbies.

The loss for the Waratahs is their fourth from six matches this year and their third straight loss from four matches at home in Sydney.

The Brumbies victory over the Waratahs is their first in Sydney since July 2012 when they beat the hosts 15-19 at ANZ Stadium.

The victory is their first at Allianz Stadium since 2002 and is their third in sixteen visits to Sydney.

The Waratahs travel to Perth next week where they will play the Western Force. The Brumbies return home as they host the Crusaders on Sunday.

More to follow.

Final Score Waratahs 20 (17) Brumbies 26 (19)


Tries -R.Robinson, I.Folau
Pen – B.Foley 2
Con – B.Foley 2
Drop –
Cards – W.Palu (72nd min yellow)

Tries – J.Tomane 3, S.Mooore
Pen –
Con – C.Lealiifano 3
Drop –
Cards – J.Butler (76th min yellow)

Attendance : 25,319

Match Officials
Referee: Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 1:Brendon Pickerill
Assistant Ref 2:Michael Hogan
TMO : Ian Smith



1. Benn Robinson , 2. Hugh Roach , 3. Tom Robertson , 4. Dean Mumm , 5. Will Skelton , 6. Jack Dempsey , 7. Michael Hooper (C) , 8. Jed Holloway , 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Matt Carraro , 12. Kurtley Beale , 13. Israel Folau , 14. Reece Robinson , 15. Andrew Kellaway

Replacements 16. James Hilterbrand , 17. Paddy Ryan , 18. Angus Ta’avao , 19. Sam Lousi , 20. Wycliff Palu , 21. David Dennis , 22. Matt Lucas , 23. David Horwitz


Scott Sio , Stephen Moore (c) , Ben Alexander , Rory Arnold , Sam Carter , Scott Fardy , Jarrad Butler , Jordan Smiler , Tomás Cubelli , Christian Lealiifano (c) , Joe Tomane , Matt Toomua , Tevita Kuridrani , Robbie Coleman , Aidan Toua

Replacements : Josh Mann-Rea , Allan Alaalatoa , Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin , Tom Staniforth , Michael Wells , Joe Powell , James Dargaville , Nigel Ah Wong

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.