French toasts first Adams Park start

Tom French returns to Wasps’ starting line up for their clash with Bath at Adams Park on Saturday. French, who started at Twickenham last May in place of the injured Tim Payne, starts only his second game of this season, again in place of Payne, who is rested.


The young loose head, sidelined with a foot injury since the opening game of the 2007/08 season, will run out with the starting fifteen at Adams Park for the first time in his career on Saturday, though he has experienced the run out at Twickenham twice already, at the Heineken Cup Final in May and the London Double header last September.


With Phil Vickery having completed his two week suspension and hooker Joe Ward also returning to the starting line up, having recovered from hamstring trouble, the front row has a completely different look to last week’s line up of Payne, Webber, Adams.


There is further shuffling behind them, as George Skivington returns to partner Simon Shaw at lock instead of Richard Birkett and Dan Leo starts in the back row in place of James Haskell, who is rested.

In contrast there is only one change in the backs, where Mark Van Gisbergen drops to the bench and Tom Voyce returns to the left wing, Josh Lewsey moving from wing to full back, where he started against Clermont Auvergne two weeks ago.

Dominic Waldouck is named among the replacements, the first time he has featured in a Wasps 22 since a severed tendon in his hand sidelined him from action in late September.

Director of Rugby, Ian McGeechan said, “Bath have been playing some outstanding rugby this season, and consequently they are the form side in the Guinness Premiership at the moment.


We know that due to our poor start to the season we are in catch up mode, and for Wasps this game is without doubt the biggest challenge of the season to date.”

Wasps team to face Bath in the Guinness Premiership on Saturday is:

15 Josh Lewsey
14 Paul Sackey
13 Fraser Waters
12 Riki Flutey
11 Tom Voyce
10 Danny Cipriani
9 Eoin Reddan

1 Tom French
2 Joe Ward
3 Phil Vickery
4 Simon Shaw
5 George Skivington
6 Dan Leo
7 Tom Rees
8 Lawrence Dallaglio (c)

16 Rob Webber
17 Tim Payne
18 Tom Palmer
19 Richard Birkett
20 Mark McMillan
21 Dominic Waldouck
22 Mark Van Gisbergen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.