Satala back on the wing for Leeds

Fijian international Apo Satala will return on the wing for Leeds Carnegie ahead of their trip to Guinness Premiership high fliers Bath this Saturday, kick off 2.15pm.

Satala missed last weekend’s narrow defeat at Calvisano whilst he was away with the British Army on Sevens duty in South Africa.


He replaces John Holtby who is ruled out with a hamstring strain.


Joe Bedford comes back in for Darren Edwards at scrum half whilst Colin Noon is replaced by Tommy McGee in the front row after Noon picked up an injury late in training this week.

Erik Lund is a late withdrawal for Leeds after being ruled out suffering from flu. Pablo Bouza will start in the second row whilst Danny Paul comes on to the bench.

Also on the bench, Adam Balding is set to make his Leeds Carnegie debut whilst on loan from Gloucester. Balding has been at Headingley Carnegie for three weeks but was ineligible for the recent Cup games.


Looking back on last weeks performance we were obviously disappointed not to have maintained our 100% record in the European Challenge Cup however a quarter final berth remains well within our grasp and we will obviously look forward to two big games against Dax and Castres after Christmas.” said Director of Rugby Stuart Lancaster


“All thoughts have now turned to the league programme and what promises to be a run of three massive games for the team over the Festive period.”


“Bath are a side who have a great history and tradition and who are currently playing some excellent rugby and deserve their position at the top end of the table.


They have managed this season to combine their tradition for set piece excellence with a balance to their attacking game. This has been complemented with the arrival of Michael Claassens and Butch James.”


“The Rec is always a tough place to go but we will be looking forward to going there. It is a notoriously tough place to try and win at and I am sure Bath will be looking to finish their home campaign for the year with a strong performance. ” he added


The team in full is:

15. Leigh Hinton
14. Apo Satala
13. Rob Vickerman
12. Lee Blackett
11. Tom Biggs
10. Alberto Di Bernardo
9. Joe Bedford

1. Mike MacDonald
2. Vili Ma’asi
3. Tommy McGee
4. Stuart Hooper (c)
5. Pablo Bouza
6. Jon Dunbar
7. Calum Clark
8. Rhys Oakley

16. Michael Cusack
17. Phil Nilsen
18. Danny Paul
19. Adam Balding
20. James Brooks
21. Jonny Hepworth
22. Jon Goodridge   


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.