Turner spares Australia A embarrassment

Wing Lachlan Turner scored a late try to salvage a draw for Australia A in Fiji, in their final Pacific Nations Cup match in Suva on Saturday.

Clint Schifcofske could even have nicked a win for the visitors, but he missed the conversion from wide out.

The Fijians had stormed into a 14-9 lead, with wing Filimone Bolavucu scoring two terrific length-of-the-pitch tries, both converted by fly-half Waisea Luveniyali.

The hot weather made things tricky for the Aussies, who made a stack of errors and lost hooker Tatufu Polota-Nau to injury just after the break.

Trailing 7-3 at the break, Cameron Shepherd doubled his tally of penalties before Schifcofske put the visitors in the lead with another pot at goal.

But Bolavucu intercepted a careless Ryan Cross pass for what looked to be the winning score for the Fijians.

But right at the death, the hosts’ energy flagged, and the Australian pack shoved their Fijian counterpart off their own scrum ball, allowing Turner to wriggle through.

The scorers:

For Fiji:
Tries: Bolavucu 2
Cons: Luveniyali 2

For Australia A:
Try: Turner
Pens: Shepherd 2, Schifcofske

Fiji: 15 Norman Ligairi, 14 Isoa Neivua, 13 Kameli Ratuvou, 12 Seru Rabeni, 11 Filimone Bolavucu, 10 Waisea Luveniyali, 9 Jone Daunivucu, 8 Sisa Koyamaibole, 7 Aca Ratuva, 6 Semisi Naevo, 5 Kele Leawere (c), 4 Ifereimi Rawaqa, 3 Henry Qiodravu, 2 Sunia Koto, 1 Alefoso Yalayalatabua.
Replacements: 16 Vereniki Sauturaga, 17 Apisai Turukawa, 18 Peniasi Tokakece, 19 Dale Tonawai, 20 Moses Rauluni, 21 Sisa Waqa, 22 Gabiriele Lovobalavu

Australia ‘A’: 15 Cameron Shepherd, 14 Digby Ioane, 13 Junior Pelesasa, 12 Ryan Cross, 11 Lachie Turner, 10 Berrick Barnes, 9 Josh Valentine, 8 David Lyons, 7 David Pocock, 6 Hugh McMeniman, 5 James Horwill, 4 Alister Campbell (c), 3 Nic Henderson, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Rodney Blake.
Replacements: 16 Sean Hardman, 17 Gareth Hardy, 18 Dean Mumm, 19 Jone Tawake, 20 Josh Holmes, 21 Sam Norton-Knight, 22 Clinton Schifcofske.

Referee: Chris Pollock (New Zealand)
Touch judges: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand), Napolione Locoloco (Fiji)


365 Digital

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.