Highlanders v Chiefs Super Rugby Preview

Out of the last six Super Rugby matches between the Dunedin based Highlanders and the Hamilton based Chiefs both sides have won three matches each.

It is worth noting that the last three matches between the Highlanders and the Chiefs have all been won by the Highlanders.

Overall the Highlanders have played the Chiefs 25 times in Super Rugby since 1996 and the HIghlanders have won 10 matches and lost 15. There have been no draws.

That gives the Highlanders a record of winning 40% of their matches against the Chiefs regardless of venue. The average score when the Highlanders play the Chiefs is Highlanders 22 Chiefs 23.

This weekend the match will be played in Dunedin which his home for the Highlanders and where the teams have met on 12 occasions. In those 12 matches the Highlanders have won 5 matches and lost 7.

That gives the Highlanders a record of winning 42% of their home matches against the Chiefs. The average score when the Highlanders play the Chiefs in Dunedin is Highlanders 22 Chiefs 23

The Highlanders current home in Dunedin is the Forsyth Barr stadium which they started playing from in 2012. Since they moved to the new stadium the teams have met four times and both teams have won two matches each.

The average score when the Highlanders play the Chiefs at the Forsyth Barr stadium is Highlanders 28 Chiefs 25.

The Highlanders earned home advantage in this match as they finished the regular season in fourth place directly above the Chiefs in sixth place.

The Highlanders have played 16 matches this season and they have won 11 matches or 69% of their matches. At home they have played 8 matches and won 6 or 75% of their home matches.

The Chiefs have also played 16 matches and they have won 10 matches or 63% of their matches. Away from home the Chiefs played 8 matches and won 4 or 50% of their away matches.

In terms of selection the Highlanders have named a near enough full strength team including their All Blacks Ben Smith, Aaron Smith and Malakai Fekitoa. The Highlanders have also named captain Nasi Manu and Mark Reddish in the team.

The versatile Dan Pryor, who has played in all three back row position this season, moves to the openside flank replacing the injured John Hardie. In the front row Daniel Lienert-Brown makes way for Brendon Edmonds.

The Chiefs have named newly re-signed Chiefs hooker Hika Elliot and flanker Sam Cane will return to the side, having been rested last week. Michael Fitzgerald moves onto the blindside while captain Liam Messam takes over the No 8 duties.

Brad Weber starts at halfback and Andrew Horrell gets the nod at first five-eighth and cousins Tim Nanai-Williams and Sonny Bill Williams will pair up in the midfield with Charlie Ngatai out due to concussion. Damian McKenzie starts at fullback with Tom Marshall ruled out with a knee injury.

These teams met just three weeks ago at the same venue and the Highlanders won 36-9.

The Bookies have given the Chiefs a 4 point start for this Match – with an offer of a FREE $150 BET. Injuries have hit the Chiefs this season and in recent weeks they have not been as impressive as the Highlanders who have gone from strength to strength as the season progressed. The Highlanders will also be playing at home where they have a strong record this year. The Highlanders should win this by 7.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 3/HD.

Average score: Highlanders 22 Chiefs 23

Last six results
30 May 2015 Highlanders v Chiefs 36-9 Dunedin
06 Mar 2015 Highlanders v Chiefs 20-17 Hamilton
27 Jun 2014 Highlanders v Chiefs 29-25 Dunedin
01 Mar 2014 Highlanders v Chiefs 19-21 Hamilton
22 Mar 2013 Highlanders v Chiefs 7-19 Hamilton
22 Feb 2013 Highlanders v Chiefs 27-41 Dunedin

Highlanders overall record against the Chiefs
Played 25 , Wins 10, Losses 15, Draws 0

Match No.121: Qualifier : Highlanders v Chiefs
Date : Saturday 20 June 2015
Venue : Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
Kick Off local: 19:35 local, 17:35 AEST, 09:35 SAST
Referee: Chris Pollock
Assistant Ref 1:Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 2:Mike Fraser
TMO : Aaron Paterson



1. Brendon Edmonds , 2. Liam Coltman , 3. Josh Hohneck , 4. Alex Ainley , 5. Mark Reddish , 6. Elliot Dixon , 7. Dan Pryor , 8. Nasi Manu (co-Captain) , 9. Aaron Smith , 10. Lima Sopoaga , 11. Patrick Osborne , 12. Richard Buckman , 13. Malakai Fekitoa , 14. Waisake Naholo , 15. Ben Smith (co-Captain)

Replacements , 16. Ash Dixon , 17. Daniel Lienert-Brown , 18. Ross Geldenhuys , 19. Joe Latta , 20. Gareth Evans , 21. Fumiaki Tanaka , 22. Marty Banks , 23. Shaun Treeby

Chiefs Team

1. Pauliasi Manu , 2. Hika Elliot – 100th Super Rugby match , 3. Ben Tameifuna , 4. Matt Symons , 5. Brodie Retallick. , 6. Michael Fitzgerald , 7. Sam Cane , 8. Liam Messam (c), 9. Brad Weber , 10. Andrew Horrell , 11. James Lowe , 12. Sonny Bill Williams , 13. Tim Nanai-Williams , 14. Bryce Heem , 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacements : 16. Quentin MacDonald , 17. Siate Tokolahi , 18. Jamie Mackintosh , 19. Mitchell Crosswell , 20. Michael Leitch , 21. Kane Hammington – Super Rugby and Chiefs Debut , 22. Marty McKenzie , 23. Seta Tamanivalu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.