Bulls v Cheetahs Super Rugby Preview

Out of the last six Super Rugby matches between the Pretoria based Bulls and the Bloemfontein based Cheetahs the Pretoria side have won five and the Cheetahs one.

The Cheetahs and the Bulls have already played once this season and the Bulls won 20-39 in Bloemfontein.

Overall the Bulls have played the Cheetahs 14 times since the Bloemfontein side joined Super Rugby in 2006 and the Bulls have won 13 matches and lost one.

That gives the Bulls a record of winning 93% of their matches against the Cheetahs and the average score when these teams play regardless of venue is Bulls 34 Cheetahs 21.

This weekend the match will be played at Loftus Versfeld which is home for the Bulls and where the teams have met six times. In those six matches the Bulls have won all six which makes them undefeated in these matches.

The average score when the Bulls play the Cheetahs at Loftus is : Bulls 30 Cheetahs 21.

Both the Bulls and the Cheetahs are out of contention for the play offs. The Bulls are in 9th place and could move up to eighth. The Bulls have played 15 matches and won 7. At home the Bulls have played 7 matches and won 5.

The Cheetahs are in 13th place and have also played 15 matches this season and they have won four matches. Away from home the Cheetahs have played 7 matches and won two.

In selection terms the Bulls have been forced to rest some of their Springbok players and have made four changes. Jan Serfontein, Handre Pollard, Deon Stegmann, Dean Greyling, Victor Matfield and Lappies Labuschagne are all on forced rest.

Matfield is replaced by Grant Hattingh and Labuschagne by Arno Botha at flank, while Greyling’s place will be taken by Morne Mellett. Adriaan Strauss is back at hooker, with Callie Visagie moving to the bench.

Ludeke also called Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg and Roelof Smit into the squad again to cover for Deon Stegmann and Hattingh and the backline remain unchanged from last week.

New Cheetahs coach Franco Smith is still experimenting with his selections and has made several changes for this week. Willie le Roux returns to the starting line-up which pushes Coenie van Wyk down to the replacements bench.

On the wing Sergeal Petersen moves from right to left wing, replacing Cornal Hendricks and Clayton Blommetjies moves in on right wing. Henco Venter moves up from the bench to replace Tienie Burger. Oupa Mohoje and Renier Botha come on to the replacements bench while Shaun Venter drops out of the 23.

The Bookies have given the Cheetahs a 17 point start for this Match – with an offer of a 100% Deposit Bonus up to $200. The Bulls won’t be at full strength in this match but they will have home advantage. The Bulls should win this by 13.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 4.

Average score: Bulls 34 Cheetahs 21

Last six results
07 Mar 2015 Bulls v Cheetahs 39-20 Bloemfontein
03 May 2014 Bulls v Cheetahs 26-21 Pretoria
21 Feb 2014 Bulls v Cheetahs 9-15 Bloemfontein
01 Jun 2013 Bulls v Cheetahs 30-25 Bloemfontein
13 Apr 2013 Bulls v Cheetahs 26-20 Pretoria
30 Jun 2012 Bulls v Cheetahs 40-24 Pretoria

Bulls overall record against the Cheetahs
Played 14 , Wins 13, Losses 1 , Draws 0

Match No.119:Bulls v Cheetahs
Date : Saturday 13 June 2015
Venue : Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick Off local: 17:05 local, 01:05* AEST, 03:05* NZST
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 1:Jason Jaftha
Assistant Ref 2:Ben Crouse
TMO :Willie Vos



Jesse Kriel, Francois Hougaard, JJ Engelbrecht, Burger Odendaal, Travis Ismaiel, Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Rudy Paige , Pierre Spies ( c), Jacques du Plessis, Arno Botha, Grant Hattingh, Flip van der Merwe, Marcel van der Merwe, Adriaan Strauss, Morne Mellett.

Replacements: Callie Visagie, Trevor Nyakane, Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg, Roelof Smit, Bjorn Basson, Tian Schoeman, Jurgen Visser, Werner Kruger.


1 . BG Uys, 2. Torsten van Jaarsveld, 3. Maks van Dyk, 4. Carl Wegner, 5 Francois Uys ( c ), 6. Boom Prinsloo, 7. Henco Venter, 8. Niell Jordaan, 9. Sarel Pretorius ( vc ), 10. Niel Marais, 11. Sergeal Petersen, 12. Ryno Benjamin, 13. Francois Venter, 14. Clayton Blommetjies, 15. Willie le Roux

Replacements : 16. Elandre Huggett, 17. Danie Mienie, 18. Ewald vd Westhuizen, 19. Steven Sykes, 20. Gerhard Olivier, 21. Oupa Mohoje, 22. Renier Botha, 23. Coenie van Wyk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.