Chiefs v Hurricanes Super Rugby Preview

Out of the last six Super Rugby matches between the Hamilton based Chiefs and the Wellington based Hurricanes the Wellington side have won four and the Hamilton side two.

Overall the Chiefs have played the Hurricanes 25 times in Super Rugby since 1996 and the Chiefs have won 11 matches, drawn one and lost 13.

That gives the Chiefs a record of winning 44% of their matches against the Hurricanes and the average score is Chiefs 23 Hurricanes 23.

This weekend the match will be played in New Plymouth at the Yarrow Stadium and ironically the teams have played there before but in 1999 it was a Hurricanes home game.

Overall the Chiefs have had home advantage over the Hurricanes 12 times and they have won 7 matches, drawn one and lost four. The average score when the Chiefs have home advantage is Chiefs 24 Hurricanes 19.

Both teams have already qualified for the play offs but the Chiefs have more to play for. The Hurricanes cannot be caught in first place but the Chiefs need to remain above the Highlanders if they are to host a play off next week.

The Chiefs are in fourth place and but they could drop down to sixth place. The Chiefs have played 15 matches in 2015 and they have won 10 matches and lost five. They have played seven matches at home and won six.

The Hurricanes have played 15 matches and they have won 13. They have played 7 matches away from home and won 6.

In terms of selection the Hurricanes will be without Beauden Barrett and James Marshall will run the backline. Nehe Milner-Skudder moves from wing to fullback.

Mark Abbott and Taranaki-born Callum Gibbins come into the starting line-up, along with Brad Shields who came off the bench last week. James Broadhurst and Ardie Savea are given a little relief having started 13 and 12 matches respectively, out of a possible 15 so they are on the bench.

Wider training group member Sam McNicol has been called into the reserves and may get his first ever Super Rugby start.

The Chiefs have got Sonny Bill Williams back for this match and there are four local Taranaki players are in the match day side

Sonny Bill will be joined by James Lowe or Hosea Gear on the wing while Pauliasi Manu, Quentin MacDonald and Ben Tameifuna will combine to make the starting front row with Hika Elliot being rested. Lock Matt Symons also returns to the run-on fifteen.

Michael Leitch will shift to flanker while All Black Sam Cane takes his second pre-arranged break and Maama Vaipulu will wear the No 8 jersey.Brad Weber will take over the starting halfback duties this week.

There are also seven different players that have been added to the replacements. Taranaki’s Rhys Marshall and Mitch Crosswell will join Siate Tokolahi, Jamie Mackintosh, Michael Fitzgerald, Augustine Pulu and Andrew Horrell on the pine.

The Bookies have given the Hurricanes a 5 point start for this Match – with an offer of a 100% Deposit Bonus up to $200. The Hurricanes cannot really gain anything other than a psychological advantage from winning this week while the Chiefs can ensure they have home advantage next week and as they play after the Highlanders they will know what they have to do to get it. The Chiefs should edge this by four.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 1/HD.

Average score: Chiefs 23 Hurricanes 23

Last six results
16 May 2015 Chiefs v Hurricanes 18-22 Wellington
04 Jul 2014 Chiefs v Hurricanes 24-16 Hamilton
24 May 2014 Chiefs v Hurricanes 8-45 Wellington
28 Jun 2013 Chiefs v Hurricanes 34-22 Hamilton
17 May 2013 Chiefs v Hurricanes 17-12 Wellington
13 Jul 2012 Chiefs v Hurricanes 25-28 Wellington

Chiefs overall record against the Hurricanes
Played 25, Wins 11 , Losses 13 , Draws 1

Match No.117: Chiefs v Hurricanes
Date : Saturday 13 June 2015
Venue : Yarrow Stadium, New Plymouth
Kick Off local: 19:35 local, 17:35 AEST, 09:35 SAST
Referee: Chris Pollock
Assistant Ref 1:Shane McDermott
Assistant Ref 2:Paul Williams
TMO : Chris Wratt



1. Pauliasi Manu , 2. Quentin MacDonald , 3. Ben Tameifuna , 4. Matt Symons , 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Liam Messam (c) , 7. Michael Leitch , 8. Maama Vaipulu , 9. Brad Weber , 10. Marty McKenzie , 11. James Lowe/Hosea Gear , 12. Sonny Bill Williams, 13. Charlie Ngatai , 14. Bryce Heem , 15. Tom Marshall

Replacments : 16. Rhys Marshall , 17. Siate Tokolahi , 18. Jamie Mackintosh , 19. Michael Fitzgerald , 20. Mitchell Crosswell , 21. Augustine Pulu , 22. Andrew Horrell , 23. Damian McKenzie


1. Reggie Goodes , 2. Dane Coles , 3. Ben Franks , 4. Jeremy Thrush , 5. Mark Abbott , 6. Brad Shields , 7. Callum Gibbins , 8. Victor Vito , 9.TJ Perenara , 10. James Marshall , 11. Julian Savea , 12. Rey Lee-Lo , 13. Conrad Smith , 14.Cory Jane , 15. Nehe Milner-Skudder

Replacements : 16. Brayden Mitchell , 17. Chris Eves,18. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 19. James Broadhurst, 20. Ardie Savea, 21. Frae Wilson, 22.Willis Halaholo,23. Sam McNicol

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.