Cheetahs v Waratahs Super Rugby Preview

Out of the last six Super Rugby matches between the Bloemfontein based Cheetahs and the Sydney based Waratahs both teams have won three matches each.

The last three matches between the teams have all been won by the Cheetahs but overall the teams have played each other 8 times.

In those eight matches played the Cheetahs have won four matches and the Waratahs have also won four giving the Cheetahs a record of winning 50% of their matches against the Sydney side.

The average score when the Cheetahs play the Waratahs regardless of venue is Cheetahs 21 Waratahs 25.

This weekend the match will be played in Bloemfontein which is home for the Cheetahs and where the teams have met twice before.

In those two Bloemfontein matches the Cheetahs have won one and the Waratahs have also won one. There was also one match between the teams played in Kimberley and that match was won 30-26 by the Cheetahs.

The average score when the Cheetahs play the Waratahs is Cheetahs 25 Waratahs 26.

The Cheetahs who are 13th in the standings have played 14 matches so far this season and they have won four matches and lost ten. The Cheetahs have played 7 matches at home but only won two.

In comparison the Waratahs who are 3rd in the standings have played 14 matches and won nine. The Waratahs have played 7 matches away from home and they have won four. They have not yet won in South Africa.

The Cheetahs have a new coach this week in Franco Smith and he has made a number of interesting changes. Niel Marais from the Shimlas starts at flyhalf which has pushed Joe Pietersen out of the team. Pietersen was originally named on the bench but was later replaced by Willie le Roux who took his place on the bench.

Smith has also started Sarel Pretorius at scrumhalf, Cornal Hendricks on the left wing and Coenie van Wyk will start as fullback replacing Clayton Blommetjies while Rayno Benjamin moves up from the bench replacing Michael van der Spuy.

In the forwards Tienie Burger and Boom Prinsloo exchanges places on the flank and Niell Jordaan will make his Super Rugby debut as eighth man.

The Waratahs have made just two changes for ths match Rob Horne has been suspended so Matt Carraro comes into the starting line up on the left wing.

In the forwards after coming off the replacements bench in Johannesburg last weekend Jacques Potgieter returns to the starting lineup.

The Bookies have given the a Cheetahs an 11 point start for this Match – with an offer of a FREE $150 BET. The Waratahs lost last week and that loss allowed the Brumbies to catch up on them. They know that another slip up could cost them a place in the semi-finals or even a home semi-final. The Waratahs should win this by 6.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 3/HD.

Average score: Cheetahs 21 Waratahs 25

Last six results
15 Mar 2013 Cheetahs v Waratahs 27-26 Sydney
26 May 2012 Cheetahs v Waratahs 35-34 Bloemfontein
19 Mar 2011 Cheetahs v Waratahs 23-3 Sydney
03 Apr 2010 Cheetahs v Waratahs 17-40 Sydney
01 May 2009 Cheetahs v Waratahs 10-18 Bloemfontein
28 Mar 2008 Cheetahs v Waratahs 19-23 Sydney

Cheetahs overall record against the Waratahs
Played 8, Wins 4 , Losses 4, Draws 0

Match No.112:Cheetahs v Waratahs
Date : Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein
Venue : Saturday 6 June 2015
Kick Off local: 15:00 local, 23:00 AEST, 01:00* NZST
Referee: Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 1:Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Ref 2:Lourens van der Merwe
TMO :Johan Greeff



15 Coenie van Wyk, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Rayno Benjamin, 11 Cornal Hendricks, 10 Niel Marais, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Tienie Burger, 6 Boom Prinsloo, 5 Francois Uys (captain), 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Maks van Dyk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 BG Uys

Replacements: 16 Elandre Huggett, 17 Danie Mienie, 18 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 19 Seven Sykes, 20 Willie Britz, 21 Henco Venter, 22 Shaun Venter, 23.Willie Le Roux


1 Benn Robinson ,2 Hugh Roach, 3 Sekope Kepu, 4 Mitchell Chapman, 5 David Dennis (C), 6 Jacques Potgieter, 7 Michael Hooper (VC), 8 Wycliff Palu, 9 Nick Phipps, 10 Bernard Foley,11 Matt Carraro,12 Kurtley Beale ,13 Adam Ashley-Cooper (VC), 14 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 15 Israel Folau

Replacements: 16. David Porecki,17. Jeremy Tilse, 18. Paddy Ryan, 19. Dean Mum, 20. Stephen Hoiles, 21. Pat McCutcheon, 22. Brendan McKibbin ,23. Peter Betham, 24. Jack Dempsey, 25. Jono Lance

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.