Stormers make three changes for Lions match

Stormers coach Allister Coetzee has made three changes to his starting line up to play the Lions at Newlands in Cape Town on Saturday.

In addition to the three changes in the starting XV Coeetzee has named two faces on the replacements bench.

Schalk Burger returns from a week’s rest as per the agreement on Springbok players rest and his return sees Nizaam Carr drop down to the bench, with Sikhumbuzo Notshe, a try-scorer off the bench against the Cheetahs last weekend, missing out altogether.

Joining Burger back in the starting line-up are hooker Bongi Mbonambi (in for the injured Scarra Ntubeni) and tighthead prop Frans Malherbe, who swaps with Vincent Koch.

Koch drops down to the bench where he is joined by two members of the Western Province Vodacom Cup team, hooker Michael Willemse and utility back Jaco Taute – adding to a strong group of replacements, which also includes Oli Kebble, Jean Kleyn, Carr, Louis Shcreuder and Kurt Coleman.

“I thought a guy like Nizaam played superbly against the Cheetahs last week and he will add something from the bench this week, as will the two new faces and guys like Oli, Vincent, Jean, Louis and Kurt who are equally capable of playing starting roles for us, “said Stormers coach Allister Coetzee.

“In a competition like this you need a strong replacements bench and I am satisfied with our final selection in what was a tough selection week with the Springbok training camp and the return to fitness of some players.”

“The Lions’ results this season speak for themselves – they’re a form team with plenty of self-belief and why not?,” said Coetzee.

“We know we’re in for a tough game against a team that asks a helluva lot of questions of you, especially in the set-piece.”

A Stormers victory over the Lions on Saturday will earn them a third South African Conference title.


15. Cheslin Kolbe , 14. Dillyn Leyds , 13. Juan de Jongh (vice-captain) , 12. Damian de Allende , 11. Seabelo Senatla , 10. Demetri Catrakilis , 9. Nic Groom , 8. Duane Vermeulen (captain) , 7. Siya Kolisi , 6. Schalk Burger , 5. Manuel Carizza , 4. Eben Etzebeth , 3. Frans Malherbe , 2. Bongi Mbonambi , 1. Steven Kitshoff

Replacements: 16. Michael Willemse , 17. Oli Kebble , 18. Vincent Koch , 19. Jean Kleyn , 20. Nizaam Carr , 21. Louis Schreuder , 22. Kurt Coleman , 23. Jaco Taute

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.