Stormers make three changes for Cheetahs

Stormers coach Allister Coetzee has made three changes for this weekend’s Super Rugby match against the Cheetahs at Newlands.

One of the changes sees Nizaam Carr replace Schalk Burger at No.6, the latter being rested as part of the SA Franchises’ agreement with SA Rugby, Carr winning his 50 Stormers cap in the process.

In the second change up front, Vincent Koch gets a start at tighthead prop with Frans Malherbe reverting to the bench, whilst Nic Groom and Louis Schreuder swap between the No.21 and No.9 jerseys – with Groom starting – in the only change to the backline.

The Stormers are currently in first position on the SA Conference log, with nine wins from 13 games, and will be looking to make it 10 from 14 with just one home league match remaining this season.

The Cheetahs beat the Stormers 25-17 in Bloemfontein earlier this month, the Men from the Cape having won 33-0 the last time they met at Newlands (on May 24, 2014).

“We need to perform and get the points this weekend to ensure we remain in contention for the Vodacom Super Rugby play-offs,” said coach Allister Coetzee on the Stormers site.

“We want to consolidate (on) our systems and ensure we keep winning, but, in order to do that, we will continue to focus on our own game and ensure we limit our mistakes against a Cheetahs team that will punish us if we are not accurate – as they did against us in Bloemfontein.

“It’s a big game for the Cheetahs, they always look forward to this fixture – against the Stormers in Cape Town. They will be up for it and we need to ensure we’re up for it too – both mentally and physically.”


15. Cheslin Kolbe , 14. Seabelo Senatla , 13. Juan de Jongh (vice-captain) , 12. Damian de Allende , 11. Dillyn Leyds , 10. Demetri Catrakilis , 9. Nic Groom , 8. Duane Vermeulen (captain) , 7. Siya Kolisi , 6. Nizaam Carr (50th cap for Stormers) , 5. Manuel Carizza , 4. Eben Etzebeth , 3. Vincent Koch , 2. Scarra Ntubeni , 1. Steven Kitshoff

Replacements: , 16. Bongi Mbonambi , 17. Oli Kebble , 18. Frans Malherbe , 19. Jean Kleyn , 20. Sikhumbuzo Notshe , 21. Louis Schreuder , 22. Kurt Coleman , 23. Huw Jones

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.