Lions vs Waratahs Super Rugby Preview

Out of the last six Super Rugby matches between the Johannesburg based Lions and the Sydney based Waratahs the Lions have won none.

The last 11 matches have all been won by the Waratahs and the Lions last beat the Waratahs in 2001.

Overall the Lions have played the Waratahs 15 times and the Lions have won one match. That was in 2001 and the Lions won the match 28-21.

That gives the Lions a record of winning 7 % of their matches – regardless of venue – against the Waratahs with an average score of Lions 16 Waratahs 40.

This weekend the match will be played at altitude in Johannesburg which is home for the Lions and where the teams have met 6 times.

In those six Johannesburg Super Rugby matches the Lions have won one and lost five which gives them a record of winning 17% of their home matches against the Waratahs.

The average score in Johannesburg when these teams meet is Lions 24 Waratahs 35.

In terms of form the Lions are having their best year in over a decade. They are still in with a chance of making the play offs and have played 14 matches so far and won 8.

The Lions have played 7 matches at home and won four.

The Waratahs are the current champions and have played 13 matches and won 9. They have played 6 matches away from home and won four. One of those was against the Hurricanes and they remain the only team to have beaten the Hurricanes.

The Lions are in seventh place in the overall standings – just outside the play offs – and the Waratahs are in second place as they top the Australian Conference. If not for the conference system the Waratahs would be in fourth place.

In terms of selection the Lions have made four changes for this week. Schalk van der Merwe starts at loosehead, Armand van der Merwe moves up into the starting side at hooker and Julian Redelinghuys comes in at tighthead.

Meanwhile, in the backline, the only change takes place at inside centre as Harold Vorster is promoted to the starting side. Elton Jantjies starts at flyhalf with Marnitz Boshoff on the bench.

The Waratahs delayed naming their team to play this week while they appealed the suspensions of hooker Silatolu Latu and lock Will Skelton. They have both been lost which means that 22-year-old hooker Hugh Roach, who has played just a handful of games, will start for the Waratahs and Manly hooker Dave Porecki should be on the bench. This gives the Lions a big advantage in the scrums and the line outs.

The Bookies have given the Lions a 3 point start for this Match – with an offer of a FREE $150 BET. The Waratahs have not had the best season this year but they have been able to deliver when it matters and it matters now. The Waratahs should win this by 6.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 1/HD on the red button.

Average score: Lions 16 Waratahs 40

Last six results
18 May 2014 Lions v Waratahs 13-41 Sydney
21 May 2011 Lions v Waratahs 12-29 Sydney
12 Mar 2010 Lions v Waratahs 12-73 Sydney
15 May 2009 Lions v Waratahs 33-38 Johannesburg
19 Apr 2008 Lions v Waratahs 3-26 Sydney
02 Feb 2007 Lions v Waratahs 16-25 Johannesburg

Lions overall record against the Waratahs
Played 15 , Wins 1 , Losses 14 , Draws 0

Match No.104:Lions v Waratahs
Date : Saturday 30 May 2015
Venue : Emirates Airlines Park, Johannesburg
Kick Off local: 19:10 local, 3:10* AEST, 5:10* NZST
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1:Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Ref 2:Pro Legote
TMO :Johan Greeff



15. Andries Coetzee , 14. Ruan Combrinck , 13. Lionel Mapoe , 12. Harold Vorster , 11. Courtnall Skosan , 10. Elton Jantjies , 9. Faf de Klerk , 8. Warren Whiteley (c) , 7. Warwick Tecklenburg , 6. Jaco Kriel , 5. Franco Mostert , 4. Martin Muller , 3. Julian Redelinghuys , 2. Armand van der Merwe , 1. Schalk van der Merwe

Replacements : 16. Malcolm Marx , 17. Corne Fourie , 18. Ruan Dreyer , 19. Robert Kruger , 20. Kwagga Smith , 21. Ross Cronje , 22. Marnitz Boshoff , 23. Stokkies Hanekom


1.Benn Robinson,2.Hugh Roach,3.Sekope Kepu,4.Mitchell Chapman,5.David Dennis (C),6.Stephen Hoiles,7.Michael Hooper (VC),8.Wycliff Palu,9.Nick Phipps,10Bernard Foley,11.Rob Horne,12.Kurtley Beale,13.Adam Ashley-Cooper (VC),14.Taqele Naiyaravoro,15.Israel Folau

Replacements:16.David Porecki,17.Jeremy Tilse,18.Paddy Ryan,19.Jacques Potgieter,20.Dean Mumm,21.Pat McCutcheon,22.Brendan McKibbin,23.Matt Carraro

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.