Bulls beat Lions in Pretoria

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Pretoria based Bulls and the Johannesburg Lions, the Bulls have won three and the Lions two.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

Armand Van Der Merwe starts at hooker for the Lions as Robbie Coetzee has injured himself. Mark Pretorius comes in for Van der Merwe on the bench. 

0.01 :The Lions kick off and the match is underway. 

2.00: The Lions make a strong start pushing the Bulls back. They try to run the ball but Flip van der Merwe slows the ball down so the Lions have a penalty. 

4.00: Elton Jantjies takes the penalty kick but he misses. 

5.00: The Bulls launch an attack from a line out. They move the ball across the field. They are stopped 5m out but they reset and Piet van Zyl dummies and slips through and scores. TRY! 

6.00: Handre Pollard misses the conversion. 

9.00: The Bulls run the ball from their half. They move the ball through the hands and Serfontein passes to Piet van Zyl who stumbles over the line. Replays show a forward pass in the build up but the TRY is awarded to Van Zyl and the TMO is not called on. 

10.00: Handre Pollard adds the conversion. 

12.00: The Lions decide to run the ball and Ruan Combrinck gets the Lions into space. Faf de Klerk gets the ball and slips off a tackle and goes for the posts and scores. TRY!  

14.00: Jantjies adds the conversion. 

18.00; Penalty to the Bulls. Pollard lines up the kick and nails it. 

21.00: The Bulls earn another penalty so Pollard takes the shot and nails it. 

24.00: The Lions win a penalty for holding on in their half. Boshoff kicks for touch and the line out. 

26.00: the Lions win another penalty – for a jersey pull in the line out.

27.00: Jantjies takes the kick and slots it. 

28.00: The Bulls win a line out. The ball goes to the breakdown but the Bulls keep the ball alive and they spread it wide. JJ Engelbrecht gets into space and dodges one tackle and scores under the posts. TRY 

30.00:Pollard adds the conversion. 

34.00: The Lions go short with a line out and they attack down the 5m line. The move wins them a penalty. Piet van Zyl is down injured which holds up the game. Van Zyl comes off and Jurgen Visser comes on. 

36.00: The Lions work the ball  up to the Bulls 22 but then lose the ball. The Bulls kick it away and Boshoff gets the ball and tries a drop goal – he misses. 

38.00: Penalty to the Lions. Jantjies takes the shot and nails it. 

39.00: The Bulls look to hit straight back. They work the ball into the Lions 22. The Lions try to clear (Boshoff) but Hougaard charges the ball down an into touch. The Lions get a line out. They win it but take the ball into touch. 

The Bulls throw the ball in for the line out but concede a penalty. The Lions kick for touch. 

It is half time. 

The half time score was Bulls 25 Lions 13

Handre Pollard kicks off and the second half is underway.

44.00: The first penalty of the second half goes to the Lions. Jantjies takes the shot and slots it. 

46.00: The Lions break down the wing and the Bulls have to scramble. They keep the ball alive and change sides. They go for the corner and go over but there is a knee in touch so no try. 

49.00: The Lions have the upper hand on the Bulls in the scrum. The Bulls scrum collapses and has to be reset. 

51.00: After two resets the Lions are awarded a penalty. Elton Jantjies takes the kick and he nails it. The Bulls now lead by 6. 

53.00: The Lions have really upped their attack this half. They get the ball into the Bulls 22. They get to the line and Jacques van Rooyen bashes over and scores. TRY! 

55.00; Jantjies slots the conversion and the Lions lead for the first time. 

58.00: The Lions win a penalty in their half. Jantjies kicks for touch. 

60.00: The Lions win the line out. Its slow but they send the ball out wide so Courtnall Skosan, he is caught but they change sides and they go wide – Basson gets a hand to a pass and knocks on and the ball goes into touch. 

65.00: Harold Vorster has a run down the wing but is caught and bungled into touch by Francois Hougaard. 

66.00: Jurgen Visser snipes down the wing but is caught. The Lions concede a penalty at the tackle. Spies takes the tap and he powers over the line taking three Lions with him and scores. TRY! Bonus point TRY!The Bulls lead again. 

68.00: Pollard adds the conversion kick. 

72.00: Pollard goes for a drop goal but its well short. The Bulls had a penalty advantage. 

75.00; Penalty to the Bulls. Pollard takes the kick and nails it. Bulls lead by 9. 

76.00: The Lions are not done yet. They run the ball and get into the Bulls 22. After about six phases Jaco Kriel goes over for the TRY! 

78.00: Elton Jantjies takes the kick and he nails it. Bulls lead by two. 

79.00: The Lions are finishing strongly. They attack but then the Bulls turn the ball over and they get to the Lions 5m line. The ball goes dead. The Bulls will have a 5m scrum. 

80.00: The siren sounds. Burger Odendaal is down. He has to be helped from the field. The Bulls put the ball into the scrum. 

The Bulls win the scrum and they kick the ball into touch. Thats it the Bulls have won. 

The full time score is Bulls 35 (25) Lions 33 (13) 


Tries – P.van Zyl 2, JJ Engelbrecht, Pierre Spies
Pen – H.Pollard 3
Con – H.Pollard 3
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – F.de Klerk, J.Van Rooyen, J. Kriel 
Pen – E.Jantjies 4
Con – E.Jantjies 3
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Ref 1:Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Ref 2:Stephan Geldenhuys
TMO :Deon van Blommestein



Jesse Kriel, Francois Hougaard, JJ Engelbrecht, Jan Serfontein , Bjorn Basson, Handré Pollard, Piet van Zyl, Arno Botha, Jacques du Plessis, Lappies Labuschagne, Victor Matfield (c), Flip van der Merwe, Marcel van der Merwe, Adriaan Strauss,, Trevor Nyakane

Replacements: Callie Visagie, Morne Mellett, Andrew Beerwinkel, Grant Hattingh, Pierre Spies, Tian Schoeman, Burger Odendaal, Jurgen Visser.


15. Marnitz Boshoff , 14. Ruan Combrinck , 13. Harold Vorster , 12. Howard Mnisi , 11. Andries Coetzee , 10. Elton Jantjies , 9. Faf de Klerk , 8. Warren Whiteley (c) , 7. Warwick Tecklenburg , 6. Jaco Kriel , 5. Franco Mostert , 4. Andries Ferreira , 3. Julian Redelinghuys , 2. Robbie Coetzee , 1. Jacques van Rooyen

Replacements : 16. Armand van der Merwe , 17. Corne Fourie , 18. Ruan Dreyer , 19. MB Lusaseni , 20. Robert Kruger , 21. Ross Cronje , 22. Alwyn Hollenbach , 23. Courtnall Skosan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.