Highlanders bring their All Black back for Sharks

Highlanders head coach Jamie Joseph has named a Super Rugby team to play the Sharks in Dunedin with all three of his All Blacks returning to the starting side.

Joseph has brought back All Blacks, Aaron Smith, Ben Smith and Malakai Fekitoa after a week of rest and Richard Buckman comes into the second-five position to cover for Shaun Treeby.

Joseph has also made four changes to the starting forward pack following the loss to Brumbies in Canberra last week.

Josh Hohneck returns to tighthead prop, Mark Reddish has recovered from injury to replace Joe Wheeler who suffered a grade 3 MCL tear last week and both Gareth Evans and Dan Pryor make the starting team.

Shane Christie (hamstring), Ross Geldenhuys (thumb), Daniel Lienert-Brown (knee), John Hardie (ankle), Hayden Parker (shoulder), Alex Ainley (jaw), Shaun Treeby (ankle), Joe Wheeler (knee) were all unavailable for selection due to injury.


1. Kane Hames , 2. Liam Coltman , 3. Josh Hohneck , 4. Tom Franklin , 5. Mark Reddish , 6. Gareth Evans , 7. Dan Pryor , 8. Nasi Manu (co-Captain) , 9. Aaron Smith , 10. Lima Sopoaga , 11. Patrick Osborne , 12. Richard Buckman , 13. Malakai Fekitoa , 14. Waisake Naholo , 15. Ben Smith (co-Captain)

Replacements : 16. Ash Dixon , 17. Brendon Edmonds , 18. Pingi Tala’apitaga , 19. Joe Latta , 20. Elliot Dixon , 21. Fumiaki Tanaka , 22. Marty Banks , 23. Jason Emery

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.