Leicester come from behind to beat London Welsh

Leicester Tigers came from behind at half time to earn a 38-17 bonus point victory over London Welsh at Welford Road.

The result moves Leicester back into the play-off places following a comfortable a triumph over 14-man Welsh side.

Despite the ultimately dominant scoreline, the Exiles battled in the first half and went into the break 10-7 ahead through Koree Britton’s try and Chris Elder’s penalty.

The Tigers responded in the second period through two touchdowns from Laurence Pearce before Chris Hala’ufia was sent-off for Welsh following a high tackle on Pearce.

Down to 14 men, the away side’s rearguard failed to cope and further scores from Sam Harrison, Jamie Gibson and Tom Youngs sealed the win.

Leicester went into the game expecting to easily secure a bonus-point triumph but Welsh gave the Midlands’ outfit an excellent game in the first half.

The signs appeared ominous when Ben Youngs scampered across the whitewash following a well-worked lineout move, but the visitors remained resilient and reduced the deficit through Elder’s penalty.

Richards Cockerill’s men were struggling to find their rhythm, an issue which has been common throughout 2014/15, and the Exiles then shocked the home crowd by going ahead.

Welsh won a turnover in midfield before good work from Hala’ufia sent Britton over to give them a 10-7 advantage at the interval.

Fired up by being behind, the hosts improved after the break and scored two tries in quick succession through Pearce.

However, a red card for Hala’ufia effectively ended any chances of the away team taking the victory as Harrison, Gibson and Youngs all touched down for Leicester.

Opeti Fonua did cross the whitewash for the Exiles late on but it proved to be mere consolation.

Final Score Leicester Tigers 38 (7) London Welsh 17 (10)


Leicester Tigers
Tries – Youngs (2), Pearce (2), Harrison, Gibson
Pen –
Con – Burns (2), Bell (2)
Drop –
Cards –

London Welsh
Tries – Britton, Fonua
Pen – Elder
Con – Robinson (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee :Tim Wigglesworth (95th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Simon McConnell and Nigel Carrick
TMO: David Grashoff.


Leicester Tigers

15 Niall Morris, 14 Blaine Scully, 13 Mathew Tait, 12 George Catchpole, 11 Adam Thompstone, 10 Freddie Burns, 9 Ben Youngs (c), 8 Laurence Pearce, 7 Julian Salvi, 6 Jamie Gibson, 5 Graham Kitchener, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Logovi’i Mulipola, 2 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 1 Michele Rizzo.

Replacements: 16 Tom Youngs, 17 Riccardo Brugnara, 18 Fraser Balmain, 19 Geoff Parling, 20 Jordan Crane, 21 Sam Harrison, 22 Tommy Bell, 23 Seremaia Bai.

London Welsh

15 Alan Awcock, 14 Rhys Crane, 13 Nic Reynolds, 12 James Lewis, 11 Chris Elder, 10 Olly Barkley, 9 Rob Lewis, 8 Chris Hala’ufia 7 Darren Waters, 6 Ben Pienaar, 5 Matt Corker (C), 4 Ben West, 3 Ben Cooper, 2 Koree Britton, 1 Nathan Trevett.

Replacements: 16 Nathan Morris, 17 Eddie Aholelei, 18 Jack Gilding, 19 Josh McNally, 20 Opeti Fonua , 21 Richard Thorpe, 22 Paul Rowley, 23 Will Robinson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.