Highlanders beat Blues in Dunedin

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Dunedin based Highlanders and the Auckland based Blues the Dunedin side have won three and the Blues two.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Highlanders kick off and we are underway.

2.00:The Highlanders win an early penalty so Lima Sopoaga takes the kick and nails it. The Highlanders lead.

5.00: The Blues win a penalty back. Dan Bowden lines up and takes the kick but misses.

6.00: The Blues knock on so we have the first scrum of the game.

7.00: The scrum goes down so we will have a reset.

8.00: This time the scrum completes the the Highlanders attack the Blues. They get over the Blues 22 line but it turns into a maul which dies. The Blues get the scrum put in.

10.00: The Blues win the scrum and kick upfield. The Highlanders get the ball and counter attack. Waisake Naholo breaks down the wing and passes out to Malakai Fekitoa who slips over in the corner. TRY!

12.00: Sopoaga slots the conversion from the touchline.

15.00: The Blues win a line out in their 22. They try to run the ball but then have to kick for touch as the Highlanders defence is solid.

16.00: The Highlanders attack in the Blues 22. Waisake Naholo gets the ball and is takes high by Jerome Kaino but the tackle spins him around 360 degrees and he scores. TRY!

18.00: Sopoaga takes the conversion from almost the same spot. He nails it.

21.00: The Highlanders are finding holes everywhere in the Blues defence. They almost get through again but handling lets them down and the Blues turn the ball over and kick upfield.

22.00: The Blues win a penalty for entering the tackle zone incorrectly. The Blues kick for touch and the line out.

26.00: The Blues get their best attacking position with a line out on the HIghlanders 5m line.

28.00: The Blues win the line out. They set the maul and drive for the line. The backs come in and a splinter goes for the line. They cant get over and Bowden kicks for the corner but the ball bounces badly and the opportunity is missed as it goes behind them. The Blues do however win a penalty for offside. They kick for the corner.

29.00: The Blues win the line out. they go through 10 phases and get held up at the line. The Blues change side and attack out wide but the ball goes into touch. Penalty to the Blues. Offside.

30.00:The Blues win the line out and .Jamison Gibson-Park gets close but knocks on inches from the line.

32.00: The Highlanders win the scrum and Ben Smith kicks upfield. The Blues get the ball and start their counterattack but then Ofa Tu’ungafasi knocks on.

34.00: The Highlanders win a scrum and Sopoaga kicks high for Osborne. The ball is knocked back by the Blues and then they kick it out. The Highlanders take a quick line out and after a little attack they kick for the corner.

37.00: The Highlanders win a free kick from scrum. They (Aaron Smith) take a quick tap and Malakai Fekitoa steps his way to the line and scores. TRY!

38.00: Sopoaga takes the conversion kick and nails it.

40.00: The siren sounds straight after the kick off and Aaron Smith kicks the ball into touch. Its half time.

The half time score was Highlanders 24 Blues 0

4.030: The Blues kick off and the second half is underway. There is a knock on straight away so the Blues have a scrum.

42.00: The Blues win the scrum and George Moala dummies a pass and slips inside and scores. TRY!

43.00: Dan Bowden takes the conversion kick but its wide.

45.00: Penalty to the Highlanders. Sopoaga takes the shot and nails it. The Blues bring on Keven Mealamu , Jimmy Cowan, Tony Woodcock, and Charlie Faumuina.

46.00: Charlie Faumuina announces his arrival with a busting run down the middle of the field but then gets caught.

47.00: Penalty to the Blues from the scrum. Tony Woodcock wins it. The Blues choose a line out.

48.00: The Blues win the line out and start their attack in the Highlanders 22. They pick and go and Patrick Tuipulotu pumps his legs and takes three over and scores. TRY!

49.00: Bowden misses the conversion.

54.00: Penalty to the Blues for playing the ball on the ground. The Blues kick for touch.

56.00: The TMO is called in for a tackle on Jerome Kaino.  Joe Wheeler is yellow carded. Harsh.

The Blues use their numbers and Keven Mealamu slips through and scores under the posts.

58.00: Bowden nails this conversion.

60.00: The Blues try to kick upfield for territory but Ben Smith stands off and watches the ball roll over the tryline and into touch so they go all the way back upfield.

63.00: Josh Hohneck comes off and Pingi Tala’apitaga comes on. The Highlanders win a scrum but Fekitoa’s pass is forward.

64.00: George Moala tries to run and looks good doing so but he is called back for crossing. Penalty to the Highlanders. Sopoaga lines up the posts.

65.00: Sopoaga slots the kick. Thats six from six.

67.00: Highlanders are back to 15 as Joe Wheeler returns.

69.00: Aaron Smith comes off and on comes Fumiaki Tanaka.

71.00: Ihaia West comes on for Dan Bowden. The Blues are trying to attack but the Highlanders defence is solid.

72.00: Scrum to the Blues on the Highlanders 22. Great attacking position.

75.00: The Highlanders manage to keep the Blues out. The Blues then win a scrum off the Highlanders and work the ball into the Highlanders 22.

76.00: Penalty to the Blues 10m out. They take the quick tap having walked to the line slowly even though time is running out.

77.00: Keven Mealamu snipes from a ruck and dives for the line. The TMO is called in as he looks short. Its a bonus point TRY!

78.00: Ihaia West slots the conversion.

79.00: The Blues go into full attack but the ball is kicked wide and into touch.

The Highlanders win the ball and hold on to it going through the phases. They try to wind down the clock but the Blues turn the ball over and attack.

The siren sounds and the Blues concede a penalty. The Highlanders kick the ball into touch.

The full time score is Highlanders 30 (24) Blues 24 (0)


Tries – M.Fekitoa 2, W.Naholo
Pen – L.Sopoaga 3
Con – L.Sopoaga 3
Drop –
Cards – J.Wheeler (yellow 56th min)

Tries – G.Moala, P.Tuipulotu, K.Mealamu 2
Pen –
Con – D.Bowden, I.West
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Chris Pollock
Assistant Ref 1:Ben O’Keeffe
Assistant Ref 2:Mike Lash
TMO :Vinny Munro



1. Kane Hames , 2. Liam Coltman , 3. Josh Hohneck , 4. Mark Reddish , 5. Joe Wheeler , 6. Elliot Dixon , 7. James Lentjes , 8. Nasi Manu ( c ) , 9. Aaron Smith , 10. Lima Sopoaga , 11. Patrick Osborne , 12. Jason Emery , 13. Malakai Fekitoa , 14. Waisake Naholo , 15. Ben Smith ( c )

Replacements : 16. Ash Dixon , 17. Brendon Edmonds , 18. Pingi Tala’apitaga , 19. Tom Franklin , 20. Dan Pryor , 21. Fumiaki Tanaka , 22. Marty Banks , 23. Richard Buckman


1. Ofa Tu’ungafasi , 2. James Parsons , 3. Angus Ta’avao , 4. Josh Bekhuis , 4.Patrick Tuipulotu , 5. Patrick Tuipulotu. 6.Akira Ioane , 7. Brendon O’Connor , 8.Jerome Kaino (c) , 9.Jamison Gibson-Park , 10.Dan Bowden , 10.Melani Nanai, 12.George Moala, 13. Pita Ahki ,14. Frank Halai , 15.Charles Piutau.

Replacements : 16. Keven Mealamu , 17. Tony Woodcock, 18. Charlie Faumuina , 19. Hayden Triggs , 20. Blake Gibson , 21. Jimmy Cowan , 22. Ihaia West , 23. Francis Saili

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.