Chiefs beat Blues in Hamilton

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Hamilton based Chiefs and the Auckland based Blues the Hamilton side have won all five.

Anton Lienert-Brown is a late change for the Chiefs in place of Sonny Bill Williams who has a knee niggle.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Blues kick off and we are underway.

2.00: The Blues chase the ball after the kick off and press the Chiefs back. The Chiefs then push the Blues back over their half way line and the Chiefs win a penalty for joining the ruck incorrectly.

3.00: Aaron Cruden lines up the kick for the posts. He misses.

6.00: The Blues are playing the match with intent. They put the Chiefs under some pressure in their 22.

7.00:The Chiefs break out and Damian McKenzie races down the wing, he is tackled and knocks on in the Blues 22.

9.00: Aaron Cruden goes down after a double tackle by the Blues. The medics come in to help. The Chiefs have a penalty and Cruden will take a shot at the posts.

10.00:Cruden takes the shot and again he misses.

14.00: The Chiefs win a penalty. Instead of kicking for posts they kick for touch and the line out. The Chiefs win the ball but they get driven into touch. There was a knock on first though so the Blues have a scrum.

15.00: Free kick against the Blues for an early shove. The Chiefs choose another scrum.

16.00: Chiefs win the scrum and run at the Blues. Dan Bowden is caught offside at the breakdown. Cruden lines up his third kick.

17.00: Cruden takes the shot at the posts and nails it/

18.00: The Chiefs kick and chase the ball after the restart and there is a mad dash for the ball as Charles Piutau and Augustine Pulu race for the line – both get to the ball at the same time and it is knocked into dead ball territory. We go to the TMO to see who knocked it. 22 drop out is the result.

20.00: The Chiefs try to attack the Blues with their running game but the Blues are up quickly in defence and Cruden knocks on. Blues scrum.

22.00:The Blues win a scrum and run the ball. They get the ball quickly out to Charles Piutau but he is tackled and knocks on. Chiefs scrum just inside their half.

27.00: The Chiefs set up a line out on the Blues 5m line. The Blues refuse to engage – as the Chiefs do – so the Chiefs win the line out and use the pick and go towards the line.

28.00: The Chiefs go through almost 12 phases of pick and go on the blues line before James Lowe gets the ball and runs straight for the line and crashes over. TRY!

29.00: Cruden slots the conversion from in front.

34.00: Penalty to the Blues. Dan Bowden takes the shot and nails it. The Blues are on the board.

37.00: The Blues have the ball in the Chiefs half but the home side are defending well.

39.00: The Blues concede a penalty at the scrum – collapsing. Cruden will kick for touch.

40.00: The siren sounds but we have time for a line out., The Blues get the ball but lose it at the line out.

It’s half time.

The half time score was Chiefs 10 Blues 3

The Chiefs kick off and we are underway with the second half.

43.00: The Blues are playing with intent again. Strong runs from Charles Piutau and George Moala give the Blues momentum.

44.00: the Blues get the ball into the Chiefs 22. The Chiefs however steal the ball and pass back to Damien McKenzie who loses the ball into the dead ball area.

46.00: The Blues have a scrum on the Blues 5m line. Jerome Kaino picks up the ball from the back of the scrum and powers to the line taking three Chiefs with him and scores. TRY!

47.00: Dan Bowden takes the conversion kick and nails it. The scores are level.

49.00: Bryce Heem comes on for Damian McKenzie. Short arm penalty to the Chiefs. They choose the scrum.

52.00: Penalty to the Blues. Dan Bowden lines up the kick and takes the shot. He nails it. The Blues lead.

56.00: The Chiefs win a scrum on the half way line. They run at the Blues but get shoved into touch. The Blues are playing clever rugby now.

59.00: Penalty to the Chiefs. Cruden lines up the kick from in front but outside of the 22. He nails it and the scores are level.

62.00: The Chiefs set up a line out on the Blues 5m line. Its the Blues put in but the Chiefs are starting to press. The Blues win a penalty for tackling in the air. Bowden kicks for touch.

65.00: Very even contest at the moment. Both teams pressing hard and testing the other’s defence.

66.00:The Blues go through several phases and get the ball into the Chiefs 22. The Chiefs turn the ball over and Michael Leitch has an outstanding run which gets the Chiefs into the Blues half.

67.00: The Chiefs continue the attack and work the ball into the Blues 22. After several phases Tom Marshall slips off a tackle and scores. TRY! Classy 80m try.

68.00: Cruden adds the conversion and the Chiefs lead.

69.00: The Chiefs have found their running game. They are on full attack but a little too confident and they concede a penalty. Ihaia West who has just come on kicks for touch.

73.00: The Chiefs win a penalty. Cruden takes the conversion kick and nails it.

78.00: The Blues are still full of attack as they search for the losing bonus point. The Chiefs are trying to wind up the game.

80.00: Penalty to the Blues. Ihaia West takes the kick and he nails it. The Blues take a losing bonus point from the match.


The full time score is Chiefs 23 (10) Blues 13 (3)


Tries – J.Lowe, T.Marshall
Pen – A.Cruden 3
Con – A.Cruden 2
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – J,Kaino
Pen – D.Bowden 2
Con – D.Bowden
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 1:Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 2:Shane McDermott
TMO : Ben Skeen



1. Mitchell Graham , 2. Hika Elliot , 3. Ben Tameifuna , 4. Matt Symons , 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Liam Messam (c) , 7. Sam Cane , 8. Michael Leitch , 9. Augustine Pulu , 10. Aaron Cruden , 11. James Lowe , 12. Anton Lienert-Brown , 13. Andrew Horrell , 14. Tom Marshall , 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacements : 16. Quentin MacDonald , 17. Siate Tokolahi , 18. Pauliasi Manu , 19. Michael Allardice , 20. Liam Squire , 21. Brad Weber , 22. Seta Tamanivalu , 23. Bryce Heem.


Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Keven Mealamu, Charlie Faumuina (Angus Ta’avao), Josh Bekhuis, Hayden Triggs, Steven Luatua, Brendon O’Connor, Jerome Kaino, Jamison Gibson-Park, Dan Bowden, Tevita Li, George Moala, Pita Ahki, Frank Halai, Charles Piutau.

Replacements: James Parsons, Sam Prattley, Angus Ta’avao, Patrick Tuipulotu, Luke Braid, Jimmy Cowan, Ihaia West, Francis Saili

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.