Exeter Chiefs smash Newcastle in Premiership

Exeter Chiefs scored six tries on their way to a bonus point 46-17 Aviva Premiership victory over Newcastle Falcons at Sandy Park.

Exeter ended their four game losing streak as they trampled the Falcons in a dominant first half performance.

Jack Nowell crossed over early before the Chiefs pack earned a penalty try, with Thomas Waldrom getting the last try of the half to open up a commanding 32-3 lead at half time.

Ruki Tipuna gave the Falcons a glimmer of hope in the second half as he crossed over for Newcastle’s first try but tries from Phil Dolman and another from Waldrom soon put the tie beyond the visitors grasp.

Will Welsh scored a well-deserved try on 79 minutes but it did little to console the visitors.

The last time these two sides matched up against one another it ended in a thrilling 29-24 victory for Newcastle, today’s encounter could scarcely have been more of a contrast.

The Chiefs started brightly collecting their own kick off and forcing the visitors into offending early. Henry Slade dissected the posts to put the Chiefs 3-0 in front after two minutes.

Nowell stole the first try of the match after some superb running from Ian Whitten. Slade got the conversion to increase the home lead to ten. A Falcons lineout earned the visitors a penalty 20 metres out, Tom Catterick made it count to get his team to within seven.

Some hard running from Cowan-Dickie and Mumm earned the Chiefs their own penalty three minutes later and Slade delivered to increase the lead to 13-3 with 19 minutes gone. A lineout deep in Falcons’ territory missed everyone but found Slade, the youngster powered over the line to increase the score to 18-3.

The 21-year-old couldn’t add another three though, hitting the post with his conversion attempt. After some sustained pressure on the Falcons’ try line, Waldrom crossed over off the back of a scrum but the Chiefs were awarded a penalty try. Slade rediscovered his kicking form, slotting another conversion, 25-3.

Waldrom crossed over yet again for his tenth try of the season, earning his team a vital bonus point. Slade converted to close the scoring for the half at 32-3. Haydn Thomas had a kick charged down in goal after 57 minutes and Ruki Tipuna gathered in goal to open the scoring for the first half.

Catterick did the rest slotting the conversion and giving his team a glimmer of hope at 32-10.

Exeter replied quickly though as a beautiful Slade pass found Dolman, he stepped inside and found the line with ease. Slade converted before being replaced by Gareth Steenson, 39-10.

The Chiefs rediscovered their first half ruthlessness as Waldrom crossed over yet again after a quick pick and drive. Steenson made no mistake with his first kick at goal earning the Chiefs a commanding 46-10 lead. Will Welsh crashed over for a consolation try on 79 minutes and Catterick converted to close the scoring.

But it did little to raise the spirits of a well and truly beaten Falcons side with the final score 46-17.

Final Score Exeter Chiefs 46 (32) Newcastle Falcons 17 (3)


Exeter Chiefs
Tries – Nowell, Slade, Penalty, Waldrom (2), Dollman
Pen – Catterick
Con – Catterick (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Newcastle Falcons
Tries – Tipuna, Welch
Pen – Slade (2)
Con – Slade (4), Steenson
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Tom Foley
Assistant Referees: Gareth Copsey, Jonathan Healy
TMO: Keith Lewis


Exeter Chiefs: 15 Phil Dollman, 14 Ian Whitten, 13 Jack Nowell, 12 Sam Hill, 11 Matt Jess, 10 Henry Slade, 9 Will Chudley, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Ben White, 6 Dave Ewers, 5 Damian Welch, 4 Dean Mumm (capt), 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 1 Ben Moon.

Replacements: 16 Jack Yeandle, 17 Carl Rimmer, 18 Alex Brown, 19 Mitch Lees, 20 Tom Johnson, 21 Haydn Thomas, 22 Gareth Steenson, 23 Byron McGuigan.

Newcastle Falcons: 15 Simon Hammersley, 14 Sinoti Sinoti, 13 Adam Powell, 12 Juan Pablo Socino, 11 Alesana Tuilagi, 10 Tom Catterick, 9 Mike Blair, 8 Ally Hogg, 7 Will Welch (c), 6 Mark Wilson, 5 Scott MacLeod, 4 Calum Green, 3 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 2 Scott Lawson, 1 Rob Vickers.

Replacements: 16 Rob Hawkins, 17 Mark Irving, 18 Scott Wilson, 19 Dom Barrow, 20 Richard Mayhew, 21 Ruki Tipuna, 22 Gonzalo Tiesi, 23 Alex Tait.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.