Sale Sharks v Leicester Tigers Premiership Preview

Leicester Tigers have named their team to play Sale Sharks in the Aviva Premiership at the AJ Bell stadium in Salford with Freddie Burns and Tommy Bell returning to the side.

England international Burns is at fly-half, with Bell starting at full-back against his former club. In another change to the backline, Mathew Tait lines up against his former club on the wing in place of Blaine Scully.

The forward pack features returns for Jamie Gibson, Michele Rizzo and Leonardo Ghiraldini.

There is a place among the replacements for Fiji international Seremaia Bai on his return from a calf injury which has ruled him out since the win over Newcastle Falcons on the opening day of the season.

Sale Sharks have won their last four Aviva Premiership Rugby matches since their 10-43 defeat at table topping Northampton in round 6.

The Sharks have not won five in succession in the tournament since season 2006/07. Sale have won their last four Premiership Rugby encounters at AJ Bell Stadium.

Leicester Tigers have lost their last two fixtures, at Toulon and at Northampton, with the reversal at Franklin’s Gardens ending a four game unbeaten run in Aviva Premiership Rugby.

The Tigers have won their last ten encounters with Sharks in all competitions since Sale’s 15-12 victory in Premiership Rugby at Edgeley Park in September 2009.

Meanwhile Sale Sharks have named their side to play Leicester with Dan Braid at number eight alongside flankers Magnus Lund and Dave Seymour for their home game.

Chris Cusiter and Danny Cipriani will form the half-back combination inside familiar centre duo Sam Tuitupou and Jonny Leota.

Match : Sale Sharks v Leicester Tigers
Date : Saturday 27th December
Venue : AJ Bell Stadium,
Kick Off : 2pm
Live on: N/A
Match Officials
: Tim Wigglesworth (91st Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Simon McConnell and Peter Huckle.
TMO: David Grashoff.


Sale Sharks

Mike Haley, Will Addison, Jonny Leota, Sammy Tuitupou, Mark Cueto, Danny Cipriani, Chris Cusiter, Eifion Lewis Roberts, Marc Jones, Vadim Cobilas, Jonathan Mills, Nathan Hines, Magnus Lund, David Seymour, Dan Braid (Captain)

Replacements Shalva Mamukashvili, Alberto de Marchi, Ross Harrison, Andrei Ostrikov, Mark Easter, Will Cliff, Joe Ford, Mark Jennings

Leicester Tigers

15 Tommy Bell , 14 Mathew Tait , 13 Vereniki Goneva , 12 Anthony Allen , 11 Miles Benjamin , 10 Freddie Burns , 9 Ben Youngs (c) , 1 Michele Rizzo , 2 Leonardo Ghiraldini , 3 Dan Cole , 4 Graham Kitchener , 5 Geoff Parling , 6 Jamie Gibson , 7 Julian Salvi , 8 Jordan Crane

Replacements : 16 Tom Youngs , 17 Marcos Ayerza , 18 Fraser Balmain , 19 Sebastian De Chaves , 20 Robert Barbieri , 21 Sam Harrison , 22 Owen Williams , 23 Seremaia Bai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.