Harlequins v Saracens Premiership Preview

Harlequins host Northampton Saints at the Twickenham Stoop

Harlequins have named a team with one change for their second round Aviva Premiership match against Saracens at the Twickenham Stoop on Friday.

Harlequins opened their season with a victory over London Irish at Twickenham last weekend so this will be their first home match.

Ollie Lindsay-Hague starts on the left wing in place of Ugo Monye who is scheduled to have surgery and is expected to be out for three months., Charlie Walker is named among the replacements.

Harlequins have won their last six regular season games in Aviva Premiership Rugby since Saracens beat them at Wembley in March.

The ‘Quins have not been defeated at the Twickenham Stoop in the competition since Saracens were the visitors in round 4 last season.

Saracens were defeated in their most recent Premiership away game, at Leicester in May, to end a seven game winning run on the road. Sarries have won their opening two games of the season for the past two years.

Harlequins only victory over Saracens in their last eleven fixtures since 2009 was 24-19 at Wembley on 31 March 2012.

Saracens have won on six of their last seven visits to The Stoop.

Meanwhile Saracens Mark McCall has also made one change to the starting XV that beat Wasps at Twickenham in the London Double Header, with Jackson Wray replacing Kelly Brown at blindside flanker.

Wray is named alongside Will Fraser (openside flanker) and Billy Vunipola (No.8) in the back row.

Alistair Hargreaves skippers the side from lock forward and is partnered by George Kruis in the second-row.

Kieran Longbottom starts at tighthead prop, joining Jamie George and Richard Barrington in the Saracens front row.

Charlie Hodgson starts at fly-half, with Richard Wigglesworth joining him in the halves.

Brad Barritt and Duncan Taylor partner each other in the Saracens midfield with David Strettle, Chris Ashton and Alex Goode making up the Saracens back three.

Match : Harlequins v Saracens
Date : Friday 12th September
Venue : Twickenham Stoop,
Kick Off : 7.45pm
Live on: BT Sport
Match Officials
: Wayne Barnes (141st Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Paul Dix and Ashley Rowden.
TMO: David Grashoff.



15. Mike Brown, 14. Marland Yarde, 13. Matt Hopper, 12. Jordan Turner-Hall, 11. Ollie Lindsay-Hague, 10. Nick Evans, 9. Danny Care, 8. Nick Easter, 7. Chris Robshaw, 6. Luke Wallace, 5. George Robson, 4. Charlie Matthews, 3. Kyle Sinckler, 2. Joe Gray, 1. Joe Marler (C)

Replacements: 16. Rob Buchanan, 17. Mark Lambert, 18. Will Collier, 19. George Merrick, 20. Jack Clifford, 21. Karl Dickson, 22. Ben Botica, 23. Charlie Walker


15. Alex Goode; 14. Chris Ashton, 13. Duncan Taylor, 12. Brad Barritt, 11. David Strettle; 10. Charlie Hodgson, 9. Richard Wigglewsorth,, 8. Billy Vunipola, 7. Will Fraser, 6. Jackson Wray, 5. Alistair Hargreaves, 4. George Kruis, 3. Kieran Longbottom, 2. Jamie George, 1. Richard Barrington

Replacements: 16. Scott Spurling, 17. Rhys Gill, 18. Petrus Du Plessis, 19. Mouritz Botha, 20. Kelly Brown, 21. Ben Spencer, 22. Owen Farrell, 23. Chris Wyles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.