Sweeney at fullback for Chiefs against Brumbies

The Chiefs have named a team with one change for this week’s match against Brumbies in the first Super Rugby qualifier at GIO Stadium in Canberra on Saturday.

The Chiefs have made one change to their starting line up with Dwayne Sweeney starting at fullback and Tom Marshall moving to the bench for their play-off match.

The Chiefs beat the Blues 8-11 last week and finished in fifth place overall earning them a place in the must win Super Rugby qualifier against the fourth placed Brumbies.

The Hamilton side also won the BNZ Cup for the second year in a row by claiming the most wins over New Zealand teams.

“This is do or die time for us,” said Chiefs co-captain Liam Messam.

“We have a lot of belief in our group and now we need to convert that into our performance on the field on Saturday.”


, 1. Jamie Mackintosh , 2. Mahonri Schwalger , 3. Ben Tameifuna , 4. Mike Fitzgerald , 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Liam Messam , 7. Tanerau Latimer , 8. Liam Squire , 9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 10. Aaron Cruden (c) , 11. James Lowe , 12. Bundee Aki , 13. Tim Nanai-Williams , 14. Asaeli Tikoirotuma , 15. Dwayne Sweeney

Replacements : 16. Nathan Harris , 17. Pauliasi Manu , 18. Nick Barrett , 19. Matt Symons , 20. Tevita Koloamatangi , 21. Augustine Pulu , 22. Gareth Anscombe , 23. Tom Marshall

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.