Toomua one of six Brumbies back for Force clash

The Brumbies have named their team to play the Western Force with six experienced players returning for the do or die Super Rugby match on Friday.

Matt Toomua, Pat McCabe, Tom McVerry, Josh Mann-Rea, Sam Carter and Joe Tomane have all been included in the match-day 23 providing the Brumbies with world class talent to chase a spot in the competition’s top six.

Nic White will line up for his 50th cap with the Brumbies while Ben Mowen equals George Gregan’s record 49 caps as Captain.

At the ripe old age of 33 Mann-Rea has earned his debut start at hooker, with Ruaidhri Murphy included on the bench and Luke Holmes shifting out of the match-day 23.

Sam Carter will partner Leon Power at lock shifting Scott Fardy to blind-side flanker, with McVerry partnering Fotu Auelua on the bench as back up loose forwards.

Tomane and McCabe will also be used as impact players from the bench after recovering from facial and shoulder injuries, respectively.

“It’s nice to have some more experience back in the pack and on our bench this week,” Captain Ben Mowen said on Thursday.

“The Force presents us with a huge challenge. Since 2006 this is their best chance at playing finals rugby and we need to be able to lift past that to get a result.

“We haven’t looked at bonus points or anything past this week. The situation for us is if we beat the Force then we advance. You can’t start looking any further ahead than Friday night.”

The winner of Friday’s clash will secure a spot in the Finals with several likely scenarios which could assure a home final.

Results and bonus points considered there is a mathematical chance for the loser to advance.


1. Scott Sio , 2. Josh Mann-Rea , 3. Ben Alexander , 4. Sam Carter , 5. Leon Power , 6. Scott Fardy , 7. Jarrad Butler , 8. Ben Mowen (c) , 9. Nic White , 10. Matt Toomua , 11. Clyde Rathbone , 12. Christian Lealiifano , 13. Tevita Kuridrani , 14. Henry Speight , 15. Jesse Mogg

Replacements : 16. Ruaidhri Murphy , 17. Ruan Smith , 18. JP Smith , 19. Fotu Auelua , 20. Tom McVerry , 21. Michael Dowsett , 22. Joe Tomane , 23. Pat McCabe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.