London Wasps sting Gloucester at Twickenham

London Wasps scored five tries on their way to a 38-30 Aviva Premiership victory over Gloucester at a sunny Twickenham stadium on Saturday.

The game was watched by close to 40,000 fans, and they were treated to a tight,
high-scoring encounter between two teams who’d struggled for consistency in
recent weeks.

A hard-fought start was reflected just over ten minutes into the game, when
the two teams exchanged converted tries.

First, Will Helu’s break laid the platform for James Haskell to score, but
a few short minutes after Andy Goode had added the conversion, the scores were
again level.

Gloucester’s Jonny May capitalised on a fumbled ball from the kick-off to score,
and Billy Twelvetrees added the goal following the TMO’s confirmation.

Wasps edged back in front through Goode’s penalty goal, and they stretched
their advantage when Tom Varndell intercepted to race away and score.

Goode again added the conversion, and though Gloucester rallied through three
Twelvetrees penalty before the interval, a third Wasps try of the half, scored
by Elliot Daly following good work from Chris Bell, established a healthy half-time

A tighter opening to the second half meant there were no additions to the scoreline
until the 60th minute, when Ashley Johnson crossed for Wasps.

Gloucester found a quick response through Huia Edmonds, but by now time was
against them, and when Haskell added his second try on 73 minutes it left Gloucester
with a real mountain to climb.

Freddie Burns closed the scoring on 78 minutes, but it was too little too late
for Gloucester, as Wasps bounced back from defeat to Leicester last week with
a deserved win.

Final Score London Wasps 38 (24) Gloucester 30 (16)


Tries: Haskell 2, Varndell, Daly, Johnson
Cons: Goode 4, Carlisle
Pen: Goode
Yellow cards: Johnson, Masi

Tries: May, Edmonds, Burns
Cons: Twelvetrees 3
Pens: Twelvetrees 3

Match Officials
Wayne Barnes (137th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Stuart Terheege and Roger Baileff.
TMO: David Grashoff.


London Wasps

15. Andrea Masi , 14. Will Helu , 13. Elliot Daly , 12. Chris Bell (c) , 11. Tom Varndell , 10. Andy Goode , 9. Joe Simpson, 8. Nathan Hughes , 7. James Haskell , 6. Ashley Johnson , 5. Kearnan Myall , 4. Joe Launchbury , 3. Jake Cooper-Woolley , 2. Carlo Festuccia ,1. Matt Mullan

Replacements : 16. Tom Lindsay , 17. Simon McIntyre , 18. Phil Swainston , 19. Tom Palmer , 20. Sam Jones , 21. Charlie Davies , 22. Joe Carlisle , 23. Charlie Hayter


Rob Cook; Charlie Sharples, Jonny May, Mike Tindall, Martyn Thomas; Billy Twelvetrees (capt), Jimmy Cowan; Nick Wood, Huia Edmonds, Shaun Knight; Elliott Stooke, James Hudson; Sione Kalamafoni, Matt Kvesic, Ben Morgan

Replacements: Dan George, Dan Murphy, Yann Thomas, Lua Lokotui, Ross Moriarty, Dan Robson, Freddie Burns, Bill Meak

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.