Six try London Irish thump Newcastle Falcons

A hat-trick of tries from Andrew Fenby helped London Irish to a comprehensive 40-12 Aviva Premiership victory over fellow strugglers Newcastle Falcons at the Madejski Stadium.

Irish touched down in the opening period through hat-trick hero Andrew Fenby,
Fergus Mulchrone, Eamonn Sheridan and Gerard Ellis as they took a 40-12 lead
into the interval.

The Falcons, who were embarrassed defensively before the break, managed four
Rory Clegg penalties, but the game was over at half-time.

So much so that neither team created many chances in the second half as the
game remained scoreless.

With the hosts already safe from relegation, Brian Smith’s men obviously thought
it was an opportunity to chance their arm.

It took them just four minutes to open the scoring through Fenby before Clegg
reduced the deficit soon after via a penalty.

However, the Exiles were rampant and, following the restart, the hosts regained
possession and Mulchrone crossed the whitewash to take them 14-3 ahead.

Although Smith’s side were sprightly in attack, they conceded needless penalties
in their own half and Clegg was on target from the tee.

With just 15 minutes on the clock, London Irish touched down for the third
time through Fenby before successive three-pointers by the Falcons’ stand-off
took them to within seven points.

It was the closest they were going to get for the rest of the match as a frenetic
period of play resulted in the home team going over on three more occasions
from Sheridan, Fenby and Ellis.

The second period didn’t have anywhere near the same amount of action as Newcastle
finally showed some spirit and endeavour.

Dean Richards’ side failed to find an elusive try, although Ryan Shortland
went close, but he was ruled to be held up by the Television Match Official.

Final Score London Irish (40) 40 Newcastle Falcons (12) 12


London Irish
Tries – Fenby 3, Mulchrone, Sheridan, Ellis
Pen –
Con – O’Connor 5
Drop –

Newcastle Falcons
Tries –
Pen – Clegg 4
Con –
Drop –

Match Officials
Luke Pearce (25th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Simon McConnell and Paul Burton
TMO: Keith Lewis.


London Irish

15. James O’Connor, 14. Topsy Ojo, 13. Fergus Mulchrone, 12. Eamonn Sheridan, 11. Andrew Fenby , 10. Shane Geraghty, 9. Tomas O’Leary, 1. Matt Parr, 2. Mike Mayhew, 3. Leo Halavatau, 4. George Skivington (Captain), 5. Nic Rouse, 6. Blair Cowan, 7. Gerard Ellis, 8. Ofisa Treviranus

Replacements: 16. Jimmy Stevens, 17. John Yapp, 18. Jamie Hagan, 19. Ian Gough, 20. Bryn Evans, 21. Alex Lewington, 22. Myles Dorrian, 23. Darren Allinson

Newcastle Falcons

15 Noah Cato, 14 Ryan Shortland, 13 Jamie Helleur, 12 Lee Smith, 11 Sinoti Sinoti, 10 Rory Clegg, 9 Warren Fury, 1 Grant Shiells, 2 Matt Thompson, 3 Oliver Tomaszczyk, 4 Scott MacLeod, 5 Fraser McKenzie, 6 Will Welch (c), 7 Andy Saull, 8 Mark Wilson

Replacements: 16 George McGuigan, 17 Gary Strain, 18 Scott Wilson, 19 Dom Barrow, 20 Richard Mayhew, 21 Mike Blair, 22 Joel Hodgson, 23 James Fitzpatrick

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.