14-man London Irish upset London Wasps

London Irish picked secured their third straight Aviva Premiership when they beat London Wasps 20-23 despite Tomas O’Leary being red carded.

Wasps were seeking to address a slide in form following a run of two defeats,
while Irish headed into the game following a good win on the road at Saracens.

It didn’t take the visitors long to take the lead, and ten points in the opening
seven minutes provided the perfect start.

But the visitors were unable to cut loose and they were forced to withstand
a home fightback in the second half.

Nic Rouse charged down a kick before finding Ian Humphreys, who had the pace
to convert the chance into five points. James O’Connor added the conversion,
and was on target with a penalty goal shortly after, before Joe Carlisle added
his own three-pointer to get Wasps off the mark.

The game exploded into life once more midway through the first half. Strong
work from O’Leary laid the platform for David Paice to extend the Exiles’ lead,
with O’Connor adding the extras, before Wasps hit back almost immediately when
the TMO awarded a try to James Short.

The missed conversions meant it remained 8-17 as half-time approached, and
though there were no further tries after the break, there were plenty of talking
points as the game continued to hang in the balance.

Two penalty goals from Carlisle early in the second half narrowed the deficit
for Wasps, and Irish were reduced to 14 men when O’Leary was sent for contact
with the head.

But the Exiles regrouped and O’Connor’s penalty on the hour established a six-point
lead, before the scores were dramatically levelled by a brace of three pointers
from Carlisle.

It set up a grandstand finish, and fortunately for the visitors Shane Geraghty
was up for the occasion, as he slotted over a drop-goal seven minutes from the
end to snatch victory for Irish.

Final Score London Wasps 20 London Irish 23


London Wasps
Try: Short
Pens: Carlisle 5

London Irish
Tries: Humphreys, Paice
Cons: O’Connor 2
Pens: O’Connor 2
Red Card: O’Leary

Match Officials
: Tim Wigglesworth (77th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Gordon Goodliffe and Darren Gamage.
TMO: Rowan Kitt.


Wasps: 15 Elliot Daly, 14 Will Helu, 13 Andrea Masi, 12 Chris Bell (c), 11 James Short, 10 Joe Carlisle, 9 Joe Simpson, 8 Sam Jones, 7 James Haskell, 6 Ashley Johnson, 5 Kearnan Myall, 4 Tom Palmer, 3 Jake Cooper-Woolley, 2 Carlo Festuccia, 1 Matt Mullan.

Replacements: 16 Tom Lindsay, 17 Simon McIntyre, 18 Phil Swainston, 19 Esteban Lozada, 20 Nathan Hughes, 21 Charlie Davies, 22 Tommy Bell, 23 Charlie Hayter.

London Irish: 15 James O’Connor, 14 Alex Lewington, 13 Eamonn Sheridan, 12 Shane Geraghty, 11 Andrew Fenby, 10 Ian Humphreys, 9 Tomas O’Leary, 8 Ofisa Treviranus, 7 Blair Cowan, 6 Kieran Low, 5 Nic Rouse, 4 George Skivington (c), 3 Jamie Hagan, 2 David Paice, 1 Matt Parr.

Replacements: 16 Jimmy Stevens, 17 John Yapp, 18 Leo Halavatau, 19 Jebb Sinclair, 20 Gerard Ellis, 21 Topsy Ojo, 22 Myles Dorrian, 23 Darren Allinson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.