Goode kicks London Wasps to victory over Exeter

Andy Goode kicked a late drop goal to earn London Wasps a 19-16 Aviva Premiership victory over Exeter Chiefs at Adams Park on Sunday.

Dave Lewis’ early converted try and Henry Slade’s two penalties gave the Chiefs
a 13-3 half-time advantage, while Elliot Daly’s three-pointer was Wasps’ only
response before the break.

Successive Goode kicks reduced the deficit to 13-9 before Joe Simpson’s touchdown
looked to have snatched victory, but Slade levelled matters late on.

However, Wasps’ fly-half was the hero when his drop-goal bisected the posts
and took them up to sixth in the Premiership.

These teams went into the game level on points in the league table, but it
was the visitors that were in command throughout the first period.

It took just one minute for Rob Baxter’s men to open the scoring when good
work from Jason Shoemark and Dave Ewers set up the position for Lewis to scamper

Daly responded for the hosts with a penalty but Slade restored Exeter’s seven-point
advantage with one of his own.

As the weather deteriorated so did the quality of play and it wasn’t until
the 31st minute before the Chiefs’ fly-half added to the scoreboard with a three-pointer,
to take them 13-3 ahead at half-time.

The hosts lifted the intensity after the break and Goode immediately reduced
the arrears with his first points from the tee. It wasn’t long before the stand-off
was once again successful with the boot to take them to within an unconverted
try of the visitors.

The comeback was seemingly completed when Simpson crossed the whitewash, but
Exeter refused to lie down and Slade equalised with a penalty. However, with
time up, Goode took one last shot at goal and secured the win.

Final Score London Wasps (3) 19 Exeter Chiefs (13) 16


London Wasps
Tries – Simpson
Pen -Daly, Goode (2)
Con – Goode
Drop – Goode

Exeter Chiefs
Tries – Lewis
Pen – Slade (3)
Con – Slade
Drop –

Match Officials
: Andrew Small (97th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Andy Watson and Stuart Terheege
TMO: Graham Hughes.


London Wasps

5. Elliot Daly , 14. Will Helu , 13. Chris Bell (c) , 12. Charlie Hayter , 11. Tom Varndell , 10. Andy Goode , 9. Joe Simpson , 1. Matt Mullan , 2. Carlo Festuccia , 3. Jake Cooper-Woolley , 4. Tom Palmer , 5. Joe Launchbury , 6. Ashley Johnson , 7. Guy Thompson , 8. Rory Pitman

Replacements : 16. Tom Lindsay , 17. Simon McIntyre , 18. Will Taylor , 19. Kearnan Myall , 20. Ed Jackson , 21. Charlie Davies , 22. Joe Carlisle , 23. Andrew Suniula

Exeter Chiefs

15 Luke Arscott , 14 Jack Nowell , 13 Ian Whitten , 12 Jason Shoemark , 11 Tom James , 10 Henry Slade , 9 Dave Lewis , 1 Ben Moon , 2 Chris Whitehead , 3 Hoani Tui , 4 Dean Mumm (capt) , 5 James Hanks , 6 Tom Johnson , 7 Ben White , 8 Dave Ewers

Replacements : 16 Jack Yeandle , 17 Carl Rimmer , 18 Alex Brown , 19 Damian Welch , 20 Kai Horstmann , 21 Will Chudley , 22 Gareth Steenson , 23 Sam Hill

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.