London Irish romp to victory over Cavalieri

London Irish scored nine tries as they romped to a 60-11 victory over Cavalieri in the Amlin Challenge Cup at the Madejski Stadium.

The Exiles had the bonus point in the bag before half-time and will look to
build on this big win in Portugal next weekend when they travel to face Lusitanos

Hooker Jimmy Stevens started the rout with the first try and he inspired new
outside half Myles Dorrian to show what he can do with a wonderful solo effort
for the second. By the end of a highly successful night’s work, Dorrian had
collected 18 points.

Another of the Exiles summer recruits, this time former Scarlets wing Andrew
Fenby, was the third try scorer and Samoan international Sailosi Tagicakibau
picked up the bonus point score two minutes from the interval.

There were five more tries in the second half as the crowd got their money’s

A debut try from centre Fergus Mulchrone’s kick-started the second half scoring
and two more tries flowed shortly after Prato’s lock Filippo Gerosa was sent
to the sin-bin.

Alex Lewington and a second from Mulchrone ensured Irish took full advantage
of their superior numbers and then scrum half Darren Allison got in on the act.

Prato at least had a late consolation try to celebrate from replacement prop
Nicolas De Gregori, but the home side had the last laugh when tight head prop
Leo Halavatau completed the scoring with a close range try.

Final Score London Irish (27) 60 Cavalieri (3) 11


London Irish
Tries: Stevens, Dorrian, Fenby, Tagicakibau, Mulchrone 2, Lewington, Allinson, Halavatau
Cons: Dorrian 5, Allinson
Pen: Dorrian

Tries: Gregori
Pens: Browne 2

Match Officials
: Vlad Iordescu (Romania),
Assistant ref: Cristian Raduta (Romania),
Assistant ref: Radu Petrescu (Romania)


London Irish: Alex Lewington; Tom Fowlie, Fergus Mulchrone, Sailosi Tagicakibau, Andrew Fenby; Myles Dorrian, Darren Allinson; John Yapp, Jimmy Stevens, Jamie Hagan, Nick Rouse, Bryn Evans, Declan Danaher (c), Jebb Sinclair, Blair Cowan

Replacements: Richard Palframan, Johnny Harris, Leo Halavatau, George Skivington, Ofisa Treviranus, Topsy Ojo, Shane Geraghty, Tomas O’Leary

I Cavalieri Prato: Toby Browne; Matte Falsaperla, Denis Majstorovic, Gabriele Manganiello, Abou Souare; Jacopo Zucconi, Pino Patelli (c); Robi Tenga, Andrea Lupetti, Rudy Biancotti, Alessandro Boscolo, Filippo Gerosa, Alfonso Damiani, Diego Delnevo, Gabriele Cicchinelli

Replacements: Lorenzo Giovanchelli, Cherif Traore, Nicolas De Gregori, Alberto Saccardo, Leonardo Della Ratta, Alessandro Lunardi, Ivan Crestini, Ale Devodier

With thanks to ERC Rugby

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.