Sharks bring in their Boks to face Western Province

The Sharks have named a team with several Springboks to play Western Province in the Currie Cup at Kings Park on Saturday.

The Sharks beat the Blue Bulls last weekend and went to the top of the Currie Cup standing but then lost their placing to Western Province who beat the Lions with a bonus point.

Province’s bonus point last week was their first of the season which indicates that they may be peaking at the right time of the tournament.

Bother the Sharks and Province have booked home Semi-finals but this week’s match should decide who finishes in top spot for the knock out rounds and who has the best opportunity of hosting the final.

The Sharks have included Springboks Jannie and Bismarck du Plessis, Beast Mtawarira, Pieter-Steph du Toit and Marcell Coetzee in their starting line up while Pat Lambie is named on the bench.

Sharks backline coach Sean Everitt expects the match to be a tight contest and he wants the team to give away fewer penalties.

“This week our focus is on discipline because that let us down against the Bulls on the weekend. We need to get that right playing a team like Western Province. “

“Another focus will be on defence, Province use the width of the field well, they have some dangerous runners, especially in Cheslin Kolbe and Gio Aplon, so we’re going to have to do our homework in order to contain them.

“For both teams it’s extremely important to try get a home semi and the opportunity to host the final, so I doubt either side will use this week as preparation for the semi-final when so much is at stake.” ,

Jacques Botes has been named in the replacements but if he comes on he will become the most capped Currie Cup player in history.

Last week Botes equalled Helgard Muller’s record of 142 matches when he played against the Blue Bulls.

Wiehahn Herbst is also in line for a special milestone, and will play in his 50th Currie Cup game for The Sharks if he comes on as a replacement.


15. SP Marais , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. Tim Whitehead , 12. Heimar Williams , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Fred Zeilinga , 9. Charl McLeod , 8. Keegan Daniel (C) , 7. Jean Deysel , 6. Marcell Coetzee , 5. Pieter-Steph du Toit , 4. Peet Marais , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Bismarck du Plessis , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements , 16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Wiehahn Herbst , 18. Stephan Lewies , 19. Jacques Botes , 20. Cobus Reinach , 21. Patrick Lambie , 22. Louis Ludik

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.