Griquas rest their stars for Currie Cup finale

With their final game in the group stages of the Currie Cup only of academic importance, Griquas coach Pote Human has decided to rest vital players for Saturday’s match against the Golden Lions at Ellis Park.

The Peacock Blues will be playing in the upcoming promotion-relegation matches against the Pumas regardless of the outcome in Johannesburg.

Human decided to rest Springbok winger Willie le Roux, while regulars like Howard Mnisi (centre), Steph Roberts (prop), Ryno Barnes (hooker, captain), Marnus Schoeman (flanker), Marnus Hugo (scrum half) and Francois Brummer (flyhalf) have all been put on short leave.

Eighthman Leon Karemaker is the only regular forward remaining, with positional and tactical changes aplenty upfront.

Most notably is the return of prop Lourens Adriaanse, who will also captain the side, and lock Ligtoring Landman.

“This game doesn’t affect the fact that we will play against the Pumas in the next couple of weeks,” Human said.

“We have decided to give many of our stalwarts a rest with the aim of them returning fresh and rested for the promotion and relegation games.

“Someone like Willie played a lot of rugby for the Springboks and it would be unfair to him to throw him in at the deep end before he has had some proper recovery time.”

In the Griquas backline Jacques Coetzee and Du Randt Gerber will form the halfback paring.

Jonathan Francke, who played for Boland in this year’s First Division gets a chance at centre.

He will partner with Jean Stemmet, while Luzuko Vulindlu gets his first Currie Cup game of the season after returning from loan with the SWD Eagles.

“We have decided to give Jonathan a chance,” Human said.

“This will be his first opportunity to prove himself before joining Griquas full-time next year.

“Du Randt Gerber also gets his first start and will have the chance to show that he is a worthy replacement for Francois Brummer.”


Gouws Prinsloo, Luzuko Vulindlu, Jean Stemmet, Jonathan Francke, Rocco Jansen, Du Randt Gerber, Jacques Coetzee, Leon Karemaker, Jaco Nepgen, RJ Liebenberg, Rory Arnold, Ligtoring Landman, Lourens Adriaanse (captain), Matt Dobson, Janro van Niekerk

Replacements: Simon Westraadt, Brummer Badenhorst, Dalton Davis, Patrick O’Brien, Enrico Acker, JP Nel, Logan Basson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.