Wasps down Worcester for first Premiership win

London Wasps secured their first win of the Aviva Premiership season when they beat Worcester Warriors 32-16 at Adams Park on Saturday.

Both sides headed into the encounter in poor form. Wasps were defeated by Sale
last week, while Worcester were well beaten by Harlequins.

Indiscipline from both sides during the opening exchanges saw the spoils shared.

Two penalties from Andy Goode got Wasps off the mark, but three from Ignacio
Mieres put the visitors in front as the game approached the end of the first

The game’s first try came just after the half hour as Wasps began to wrestle
their way into the contest.

Matt Mullan produced a deadly finish to score, after Joe Launchbury had laid
the platform with some excellent work in the ruck.

The conversion was missed, but the Wasps continued to dominate after the break
with two tries in the first ten minutes of the second half.

Christian Wade raised the roof with a superb individual try straight from the
scrum four minutes into the second half, before excellent play from Ashley Johnson
carved open an opportunity for Jake Cooper-Woolley to score.

Goode was wide with both conversion but he added a penalty goal on the hour
to make it 24-9 with time ticking away for the visitors.

Josh Drauniniu’s try for Worcester on 66 minutes offered a glimmer of hope,
but Wasps reaffirmed their superiority and secured the bonus point when Guy
Thompson crashed over following good work from the forwards, before Joe Carlisle
rounded off the scoring with a late penalty for the hosts.

Final Score London Wasps 32 (11) Worcester Warriors 16 (9)


London Wasps
Tries – Mullan, Wade, Cooper-Woolley, Thompson
Pen – Goode (3), Carlisle
Con –
Drop –

Worcester Warriors
Tries – Drauniniu
Pen – Mieres (3)
Con – Gray
Drop –

Match Officials
Greg Garner (52nd Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Roy Maybank and Andrew Pearce
TMO: David Grashoff.


London Wasps

1 Matt Mullan , 2 Carlo Festuccia , 3 Jake Cooper-Woolley , 4 Joe Launchbury , 5 Kearnan Myall , 6 Ashley Johnson , 7 Sam Jones , 8 Nathan Hughes , 9 Charlie Davies , 10 Andy Goode , 11 Josh Bassett , 12 Chris Bell (c) , 13 Ben Jacobs , 14 Christian Wade , 15 Elliot Daly

Replacements:16 Tom Lindsay , 17 Simon McIntyre , 18 Will Taylor , 19 Tom Palmer , 20 Guy Thompson , 21 Jack Moates , 22 Joe Carlisle , 23 Charlie Hayter

Worcester Warriors

15 Chris Pennell , 14 Josh Drauniniu , 13 Ravai Fatiaki , 12 Josh Matavesi , 11 David Lemi , 10 Ignacio Mieres , 9 Paul Hodgson , 8 Semisi Taulava , 7 Jake Abbott ,6 Jonathan Thomas (c) , 5 Chris Jones , 4 Mike Williams , 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ed Shervington, 1 George Porter

Replacements:16 Chris Brooker , 17 Paul Andrew , 18 John Andress , 19 Dean Schofield , 20 Sam Betty , 21 Jeremy Su’a , 22 Danny Gray , 23 Dean Hammond

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.