Sharks rotate forwards for Cheetahs in Currie Cup

The Sharks have named Marcell Coetzee and Tera Mtembu in their starting team to face the Free State Cheetahs at Kings Park in the Currie Cup on Saturday.

The Sharks have rotated Jacques Botes and Jean Deysel for the match allowing Coetzee to start with Mtembu and Keegan Daniel to take over the captaincy and the eighthman jersey.

“Tera is a very good ball-carrier, he has good skills so he will fit the role well,” explains backline coach Sean Everitt.

“Free State like to move the ball around so he gives us a bit of pace around the park.”

Speaking about Coetzee’s inclusion Everitt said on the Sharks site, “He is a very fit and enthusiastic young man, he has a lot of energy and brings a lot of energy to the team.”

“Despite flying into Durban late on Sunday, he was at rehab training first thing on Monday morning. He hasn’t shown any signs of fatigue, he’s got through both training sessions very well, so we expect him to give of his best. “

“And it’s a good opportunity for him to prove himself to the Springbok selectors after losing out in Australia and New Zealand; he will be motivated.”

There’s another rotational switch as the coaching team have brought Fred Zeilinga back in for Butch James.

After missing the last two matches, Odwa Ndungane is back to supply added experience while Heimar Williams is recalled to allow Louis Ludik the opportunity of getting a well-earned rest.

“It’s good that Heimar has another opportunity because he did really well in the games he played. He was one of the top performers in the backline in those games. “

“On the other hand, Louis Ludik has done exceptionally well, playing out of position at 13. Louis is always very accurate in what he does, he gives of his best at all times. “

“So it is a nice opportunity for him to have a break and it’s also good that we can have a look at other combinations that may carry the can for us in the future.”


15. SP Marais , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. Tim Whitehead , 12. Heimar Williams , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Fred Zeilinga , 9. Charl McLeod , 8. Keegan Daniel (Capt) , 7. Tera Mtembu , 6. Marcell Coetzee , 5. Pieter-Steph du Toit , 4. Peet Marais , 3. Wiehahn Herbst , 2. Kyle Cooper , 1. Dale Chadwick

Replacements: 16. Monde Hadebe , 17. Rayno Gerber , 18. Edwin Hewitt , 19. Brynard Stander , 20. Cobus Reinach , 21. Butch James , 22. Jaco van Tonder

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.