Sharks make five changes for WP in Currie Cup

The Sharks have made five changes to the team that beat the Blue Bulls for this weekend’s Currie Cup match against Western Province on Saturday at Newlands.

The most notable change is the return of former Springbok flyhalf Butch James who will be making his 50th Currie Cup appearance for The Sharks in this match.

“We’ve made a few rotational changes,” said backline coach Sean Everitt on the Sharks site.

“Butch James comes in for Fred Zeilinga in a purely rotational switch. Fred has done well over the last couple of weeks, but it is Butch’s turn to start. Obviously Butch is experienced and has played a lot at Newlands and enjoys that stadium, so it’s good to have him back.”

Despite winning the Man of the Match award last week, Charl McLeod will again play off the bench (and hopefully again inject great energy).

“Charl has been on top of his game throughout the Currie Cup season, but we have two very good scrumhalves and we need to develop both of them and keep them both fit,” Everitt confirms.

In other changes, Danie Mienie (loosehead prop) has been given his second cap for The Sharks after playing off the bench against the Chiefs in Super Rugby earlier this year.

“Danie has been training hard with us for the last five weeks and deserves a start.”

Rayno Gerber comes in at tighthead after playing off the bench in the opening four matches.

Sizo Maseko replaces the injured Odwa Ndungane and finally, Tim Whitehead (pictured) is back in the side in place of Heimar Williams who has enjoyed a very good run in his debut season at this level.

“Tim has had an unfortunate run with injuries but Heimar Williams has filled in well over the last couple of weeks. So it will now be another opportunity for Tim and we know what he’s capable of. The Sharks have missed him this year.”

The Sharks

15. SP Marais , 14. Sizo Maseko , 13. Louis Ludik , 12. Tim Whitehead , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Butch James * , 9. Cobus Reinach , 8. Jacques Botes (C) , 7. Jean Deysel , 6. Keegan Daniel , 5. Marco Wentzel , 4. Peet Marais , 3. Rayno Gerber , 2. Craig Burden , 1. Danie Mienie

Replacements , 16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Wiehahan Herbst , 18. Edwin Hewitt , 19. Justin Downey , 20. Charl McLeod , 21. Fred Zeilinga , 22. Jaco van Tonder

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.