London Irish run riot against London Welsh

London Irish scored seven tries on their way to a 45-28 Aviva Premiership victory over London Welsh at the Madejski Stadium on Saturday.

London Welsh led for much of the first half but a quickfire treble of tries
just after the hour secured victory for Irish.

Gordon Ross’s seventh-minute penalty put the visitors in front, but their lead
was short-lived, as Irish found an instant response to hit the front, when Guy
Armitage muscled his way over the line following good work at the line-out.

Ian Humphreys’ conversion made it 7-3, though the plucky visitors remained
in the contest through Seb Stegmann’s unconverted try.

A flurry of points before the second half saw Irish’s lead extended, with Halani
Aulika and Chris Hala’ufia crossing for a quickfire brace of tries after Welsh
head taken the lead through Nick Scott’s well-worked try.

There were plenty more points in the second half, and Irish wasted little time
in extending their lead, as Aulika crossed for his second try for Humphreys
to convert.

Welsh remained in the contest through two quickfire Ross penalties, but three
home tries in ten minutes just after the hour killed the game as a contest.

Sailosi Tagicakibau got the ball rolling on 61 minutes, before Matt Garvey
crossed and Armitage got his second.

Humphreys converted all three tries to make it 47-21, though Welsh’s efforts
throughout the contest were rewarded with the final points of the game.

Greg Bateman’s well-worked try was converted by Ross, and though the visitors
were well beaten, they emerged from the contest with their head held high, despite
having been condemned to relegation a week earlier.

Final Score London Irish 45 London Welsh 28


London Irish
Tries: Armitage 2, ‘Aulika 2, Hala’ufia, Tagicakibau, Garvey
Cons: Humphreys 6

London Welsh
Tries: Stegmann, Scott, Bateman
Cons: Ross
Pens: Ross 3

Match Officials
: Dean Richards (58th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Gareth Copsey & Nigel Carrick.


London Irish

15. Tom Homer; 14. Marland Yarde; 13. Guy Armitage; 12. Steven Shingler; 11. Sailosi Tagicakibau; 10. Ian Humphreys; 9. Darren Allinson; 1. Alex Corbisiero; 2. David Paice; 3. Halani Aulika; 4. George Skivington (Captain); 5. Bryn Evans; 6. Matt Garvey; 7. Ofisa Treviranus; 8. Chris Hala’ufia

Replacements: 16. Scott Lawson; 17. Jerry Yanuyanutawa; 18. Leo Halavatau; 19. Kieran Low; 20. Declan Danaher; 21. Topsy Ojo; 22. Shane Geraghty; 23. Jack Moates

London Welsh

15. Tom Arscott, 14. Nick Scott, 13. Seb Stegmann, 12. Sonny Parker, 11. Dan Caprice, 10. Gordon Ross (C), 9. Tyson Keats, 1. Tom Bristow, 2. Greg Bateman, 3. Paulica Ion, 4. Matt Corker, 5. Kirill Kulemin, 6. Julio Cabello Farias, 7. Michael Hills, 8. Daniel Browne.

Replacements: 16. Dan George, 17. Arthur Joly, 18. James Tideswell, 19. Adam Brown, 20. Adam Balding, 21. Rob Lewis, 22. Alex Davies, 23. Joe Ajuwa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.