Leicester Tigers cruise past London Welsh

Leicester Tigers made ground on their rivals in the Premiership when they cruised past London Welsh 28-12 at Welford Road.

Leicester scored three unanswered tries and moved provisionally to the top
of the Premiership table.

Adam Thompstone’s touchdown and three George Ford penalties opened up a 16-3
lead at the break.

Gordon Ross kicked a three-pointer in the first half for Welsh before adding
three more in the second period to close the gap, but tries by Niall Morris
and Dan Bowden sealed the victory for Leicester.

With several internationals away, this was perhaps Welsh’s best chance to secure
a win over one of England’s powerhouses.

They certainly got off to a good start when Ross slotted a penalty after two
minutes. But despite their absentees, the Tigers have the strength-in-depth
to cope with those losses.

And Ford levelled matters with a three-pointer before adding another from the
tee soon after. Although the Exiles started brightly, the hosts gradually began
to grind them down.

Lyn Jones’ men eventually succumbed to the pressure when Thompstone touched
down to take the score to 13-3.

Leicester’s fly-half then extended their advantage to 13 points at the interval
after Michael Hills had been sin-binned.

However, London Welsh are a belligerent outfit and refused to fold to their
more illustrious opponents.

They got themselves back into the game through three Ross penalties in quick
succession, but almost immediately the Tigers hit back through Morris’ try to
relieve the pressure.

Despite that setback, Welsh continued to press and Jordan Crane found himself
off the field for 10 minutes after a cynical infringement which saw the back-rower
yellow carded.

But they couldn’t take advantage and Bowden’s last minute try put the victory
beyond doubt.

Final Score Leicester Tigers 28 London Welsh 12


Leicester Tigers
Tries : Thompstone 2, Bowden
Con : Ford 2
Pen : Ford 3

London Welsh
Pen : Ross 4

Match Officials
Tim Wigglesworth (59th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Steve Lee, Stuart Terheege.


Leicester Tigers

15 Mathew Tait , 14 Niall Morris , 13 Matt Smith , 12 Anthony Allen , 11 Adam Thompstone , 10 George Ford , 9 Sam Harrison , 1 Marcos Ayerza , 2 Rob Hawkins , 3 Logovi’i Mulipola , 4 Louis Deacon (c) , 5 Graham Kitchener , 6 Tom Croft , 7 Julian Salvi , 8 Jordan Crane

Replacements , 16 George Chuter , 17 Kieran Brookes, 18 Fraser Balmain , 19 Ed Slater , 20 Brett Deacon , 21 Micky Young , 22 Dan Bowden , 23 Geordan Murphy

London Welsh

15. Tom Arscott, 14. Phil MacKenzie, 13. Gonzalo Tiesi, 12. Sonny Parker, 11. Nick Scott, 10. Gordon Ross, 9. Tyson Keats, 1. Franck Montanella, 2. Neil Briggs, 3. Greg Bateman, 4. Jonathan Mills (C), 5. Matt Corker, 6. Adam Balding, 7. Michael Hills, 8. Ed Jackson.

Replacements: 16. Dan George, 17. Tom Bristow, 18. James Tideswell, 19. Martin Purdy, 20. Ed Williamson, 21. Seb Jewell, 22. Gavin Henson, 23. Rob Lewis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.