London Wasps qualify for the last eight in ACC

London Wasps qualified for the last eight in the Amlin Challenge Cup when they hammered Mogliano 71-7 at Adams Park.

Former England winger Tom Varndell scored a hat-trick of tries while Charlie Davies scored two of his own.

Varndell’s three tries were scored in the opening 13 minutes as they
overpowered Italian side Rugby Mogliano at Adam’s Park, registering 11 tries
in total.

It took the hosts and Varndell just a minute to claim the first score with
fly-half Nicky Robinson adding the extras.

The 27-year-old grabbed his brace after six minutes and collected the hat-trick
just seven minutes later to delight of the Adams Park faithful.

Dai Young’s side then wrapped the bonus point up three minutes later with
centre Chris Bell touching down.

The visitors finally found their feet in defence but Wasps managed two more
tries before the break courtesy of second row James Cannon and wing Jack Wallace.

Wasps came out of the changing room in the same vein of form that saw them
start the first period so brightly and Charlie Davies began the second-half
scoring spree with the first of his two tries.

Mogliano registered their solitary try through Edoardo Candiago which Enrico
Endrizzi converted but Wasps were soon back on top, with hooker Tom Lindsay
touching down before Davies’ second.

Marco Wentzel and Andrea Masi completed the rout which sees Wasps progress
into the last eight with a game to spare.

Final Score London Wasps 71 (40) Mogliano 7 (0)


London Wasps
Tries:Varndell 3, Bell, Cannon, Wallace, Davies 2, Lindsay, Wentzel, Masi
Conversions: Robinson 8

Tries: Candiago
Conversions: Endrizzi

Match Officials
Cedric Marchat (Fra),
Assistant ref: Arnaud Blondel (Fra),
Assistant ref: Eric Soulan (Fra)


London Wasps: Hugo Southwell (c); Jack Wallace, Andrea Masi, Chris Bell, Tom Varndell; Nick Robinson, Charlie Davies; Tim Payne, Tom Lindsay, Phillip Swainston, James Cannon, Marco Wentzel, Sam Jones, James Haskell, Billy Vunipola.

Replacements: Nathan Morris, Sakaria Taulafo, Will Taylor, Jonathan Poff, Matt Everard, Jonah Holmes, Tom Bell, Chris Mayor.

Rugby Mogliano: Edoardo Padovani; Giovanni Benvenuti, Alessandro Onori, Cristian Cerioni, Vittorio Candiago; Alejandro Canale, Enrico Endrizzi; Gianluca Ceneda, Agustin Costa Repetto, Masamiliano Ravalle, Federico Maso, Jacopo Bocchi, Nicola Corbanese, Andrea Ceccato, Edoardo Candiago (c).

Replacements: Ivan Gianesini, Laert Naka, Enrico Pavanello, Meyer Swanepoel, Silvio Orlando, Alberto Lucchese, Filippo Guarducci, Enrico Ceccato.

With thanks to ERCRugby.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.